EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Lawn and Garden
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-05-12, 10:00 PM   #1
sunspot
Apprentice EcoRenovator

Default bats & bat houses

Are there any bat experts here?

Our property is home to a small colony of bats. We want them to stay and prosper (and continue eating mosquitoes). To that end I built a pair of bat houses but thus far the bats are ignoring them. The bats disappear in the winter and come back in the spring so I made sure I had the bathouses up in time for their arrival. We've seen them around for a couple of weeks now but the bathouses are vacant. Should I relocate the new houses, wait a season, or ?

sunspot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-12, 05:52 AM   #2
RobertSmalls
Journeyman EcoRenovator

I'm no expert, but I'm thinking about building a bathouse myself. One thing I read is that siting is important. Bats want a warm house (in northern latitudes anyway), so one that's facing south and painted black is ideal. Perhaps mounting it on the south-facing wall of a building would make it more attractive?
RobertSmalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-12, 08:53 AM   #3
Daox
Administrator

I've also been wanting to do the same. I know we have bats around but I'd like to promote them sticking around and maybe increasing in number. I haven't gotten around to making any houses yet though.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-12, 11:42 AM   #4
strider3700
Master EcoRenovator