EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-11, 02:48 PM   #1
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default "One Step Cans" of R410A?

I saw this item on Ebay and got to wondering if anyone here has seen or used this product.?.

R410, R410a, Refrigerant, Air Conditioner, 28.2 oz. - eBay (item 150525058517 end time Mar-25-11 17:49:41 PDT)


I'm wondering if a standard R410A gauge set 1/4" line (with shut-off) would screw right on top of this can??


Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 03:06 PM   #2
hotwire
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I found out about those small cans after I purchased 25lb. cylinder from koolit.net. That ebay seller also offers a refill kit with the parts needed to connect it.
R410, R410a, Refrigerant Recharge Kit, 28.2 oz. - eBay (item 400193523766 end time Mar-08-11 12:54:32 PST)
Looks like you would just need the can tapper.
hotwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 03:08 PM   #3
hotwire
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I tried to reply to your PM,but I don't have enough posts to send private messages.
hotwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 05:48 PM   #4
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotwire View Post
Looks like you would just need the can tapper.

Here's the same can (also on Ebay, But, with push button operation.
It sure seem like there is pin valve in the top..


410 R410 R410A R 410A EASY TO USE REFRIGERANT TANK - eBay (item 230518803649 end time Mar-28-11 11:15:46 PDT)
Pretty good ad, they give you instructions..


A pin valve like this..

Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 06:09 PM   #5
NeilBlanchard
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
NeilBlanchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maynard, MA Eaarth
Posts: 383
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 32 Posts
Default

I think it is a Schrader valve, then?
NeilBlanchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 06:29 PM   #6
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilBlanchard View Post
I think it is a Schrader valve, then?
Also known as "American valve" or pin valve..

If there is a button on top that you can press and release to control the flow
of the R410A, then I'll bet there is a pin valve under there..
Kinda like a propane torch tank..

I look at those directions and it occurred to me, that any Air that was inside the hose,
might well end up inside your AC system.. That can't be good..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 08:43 PM   #7
S-F
You Ain't Me
 
S-F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northampton MA
Posts: 662
Thanks: 6
Thanked 70 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Just hook it up through your manifold and vacuum it first.
S-F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 08:50 PM   #8
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Yeah, that's what I've been thinking of doing when I check the pressure.
The hoses are so long, they've got to be holding a good amount of air.
I'll be testing the pressure in both heating and cooling modes, so the pressures will be different.
Making it very likely that any gas in the hose might be back-fed into the system.
I'll make sure there isn't a lot of air in anything that could possibly into the lines.
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-11, 11:30 AM   #9
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Did a pressure test.. Does not look too good..

http://ecorenovator.org/forum/geothe...html#post12327

Since the One Step Can comes with a cut-off valve, it might be possible to connect the
cut-off to the service port and then connect the little hose, loosely to the cut-off..
Then jab the button to flood the hose with a little R410A, which should force out the air.
Then quickly tighten the connector. (Using gloves of course).

Then, proceed to add some R410A to your system...
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-11, 11:58 AM   #10
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Got a push-button version from Fedex this morning. Came with a nice cut-off valve too.

The markings on the gauge is in Bar.

Bar PSI
0 = 0
----Green-- Low
7 = 101.5
----Blue-- Full
9.5 = 137.8
----Yellow-- Warning
11 = 159.5
----Red-- Danger
15 = 217.5

The Full range of 101.5 to 137.8 PSI seems to be good for cooling mode on the Sanyo.


I think the pressure on the service port during heating would break the meter!!

Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design