EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Appliances & Gadgets
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-13, 08:35 AM   #1
Exalta-STA
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 107
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Actual Appliance Consumption

Hi fellas, since I do not have access to those killawatts..i'd like to get your feedback on some things.

My fridge has a rated input of 100W

so is that 100W the maximum?

also, if I turn down the setting to 1 instead of the normal at 4, would it consume less power? Would setting it to 1 make it run at a lower wattage longer than at 4 where it will run at a higher wattage at a shorter time? which would be more cost effective?

Same goes for my airconditioner

Exalta-STA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-13, 09:41 AM   #2
Exalta-STA
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 107
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

just checked online..kill-a-watts are for 100-110volts..the current here is 220 volts...
Exalta-STA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-13, 06:41 PM   #3
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,394
Thanks: 410
Thanked 604 Times in 506 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default

Model numbers would help here.

Generally speaking, both units you mentioned run the same way. When they begin to operate, they draw enormous power to kick-start their compressors, then fall quickly to a fairly constant power draw. They cool the air until a thermostat is satisfied. The compressor then shuts off and the unit draws near zero power, waiting for another call to action.

Newer models have lots of energy saving doodads and custom controls built into them. They use less power to do the same thing as their predecessors did.

Regardless of the age or efficiency of the unit, changing the setpoint to a higher temperature will always make the unit run less. This in itself will save energy. If the unit is not actively cooling, it is not using much power.

You can get actual Kill-a-watt brand meters in 220 VAC flavor. I cannot remember the actual model number, but I found an equivalent knock-off on ebay quickly:

EU US AU UK France Energy Meter Watt Volt Voltage Electricity Monitor Analyzer | eBay
jeff5may is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jeff5may For This Useful Post:
Exalta-STA (11-20-13)
Old 11-17-13, 11:12 PM   #4
Piwoslaw
Super Moderator
 
Piwoslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 926
Thanks: 176
Thanked 101 Times in 80 Posts
Default

Exalta, if you set the thermostat to 1 instead of 4, then the fridge will still need 100W max (most of the time it is less), but it will turn on less often, so in the long run will consume less energy.

You may be able to find power consumption meters locally, they do not have to be branded "Kill-a-watt". Ask around at stores with electronic doodads. Good luck!
__________________
Ecorenovation - the bottomless piggy bank that tries to tame the energy hog.
Piwoslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Piwoslaw For This Useful Post:
Exalta-STA (11-20-13)
Old 11-20-13, 08:52 AM   #5
Exalta-STA
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 107
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Hi there, thanks so much for the replies. I had a "Oooh so that's how it goes" moment

The refrigerator is an LG GC-269VL

and the airconditioner is a 0.75hp Carrier..i forgot the exact model..

I'll go have a look-see on the locally distributed knockoffs and see if they're affordable..well they'll be most probably made in China so they will be cheap...reliability and accuracy is still a question though
Exalta-STA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-13, 08:19 AM   #6
Exalta-STA
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 107
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

i checked the meter..i am running at .189-190 kW...then when i turned on the fridge (which had a input rating of 100w in the label) it suddenly jumped to .300-.301 kW..so thats 110w which is wayy above the one on the label...
Exalta-STA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-13, 08:26 AM   #7
NiHaoMike
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
NiHaoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,131
Thanks: 15
Thanked 249 Times in 235 Posts
Default

You have to wait a bit for everything to stabilize.

__________________
To my surprise, shortly after Naomi Wu gave me a bit of fame for making good use of solar power, Allie Moore got really jealous of her...
NiHaoMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design