EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Appliances & Gadgets
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-13, 10:13 AM   #31
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,875
Thanks: 106
Thanked 245 Times in 225 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exalta-STA View Post
I see, thanks for the info. I guess I really have to invest in gadgets to accurately measure my power consumption

I just noticed that it only works with 115 volt appliances...the ones we have here are 220-240 volts...sigh
If you just want to know what the 230 loads are using in real-time, so you can get a reference usage,
Turn off all your other loads, at the breaker box, turn on the load and make it run at it's normal power, then go outside and read the watt hours off your meter.

It's not too hard to read, if you have one of the more modern digital meters.
I've posted instructions here somewhere..
It's not just accurate, it's exactly what you will be charged for..

Anyways, once you see that your dryer is using 4.3 kWh, you will then have
to get out your stop-watch on wash day..

__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-13, 02:04 AM   #32
Exalta-STA
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 107
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Haha yes, the electricity provider installed digital poer meters to measure our consumption. Thanks for the tip.

And now I am using clotheslines to air dry our clothes
Exalta-STA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-13, 07:44 AM   #33
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,875
Thanks: 106
Thanked 245 Times in 225 Posts
Default

Been reading mine for a while..
http://ecorenovator.org/forum/conser...-yourself.html

As I said above,
"It's not just accurate, it's exactly what you will be charged for.."

So, if you need to know exactly what a load is costing you,
A. You will need to know how much power it uses. (turn off everything else).
B. What your total cost per kWh is. (total bill/total kWh used).
C. How long your load is running.

If you buy a TED or other whole-house-meter, you can use
your power co. meter to determine the TED's accuracy.
Most Whole-House units can be calibrated.

__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design