EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Solar Heating
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-08-09, 08:13 AM   #1
bennelson
Home-Wrecker

Default DIY Solar Hot Water Heat Exchanger

I just built a heat exchanger for my DIY solar hot water system.

I am planning on an INSTRUCTABLES on this, but I thought I would tease you all with some photos for now.

Basicially, it's a tube inside a tube to that anti-freeze that is heated by a solar panel can heat up otherwise cold water that then goes into an insulated storage tank (an old electric water heater) and then into my standard natural gas water heater.

This is sort of a little experiment, and I have never done copper soldering before, so, yes, I already know how sloppy it is!

Hot fluid from solar goes in and out the the skinny inner tube, and water to be warmed in the hot water tank thermo-siphons through the thicker outer tube through the T-connections.

See all photos at:
Solar Heat Exchanger construction - a set on Flickr

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bennelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-09, 08:31 AM   #2
Daox
Administrator

Good stuff Ben! Gotta love the tusken raider impression, LOL!

As I said in my email, I really don't think that is enough surface area. You might need to run several of those lines in parallel.

Also, have you pressure tested it yet? I hear thats really the only way to test your soldered joints.

&
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-09, 10:55 AM   #3
jwxr7
Apprentice EcoRenovator