EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Product Reviews
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-12, 04:34 PM   #1
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,869
Thanks: 106
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default Ensupra Power Usage Monitor $20



Ensupra Electricity Usage Monitor,Watt Meter,Track,Record & Reduce Energy Costs | eBay


Here's the video review..

Ensupra Power Usage Monitor review / Kill-a-watt / WANF - YouTube

Looks like a nicer version of the Kill-A-Watt meter..

Amazon.com: Ensupra Electricity Usage Monitor, Power Meter, Reduce Your Energy Costs: Patio, Lawn & Garden

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	41+IDXNKUQL._SY355_.jpg
Views:	1301
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	4004  
__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..

Last edited by Daox; 02-11-14 at 03:25 PM..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-12, 09:26 PM   #2
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,471
Thanks: 1,110
Thanked 367 Times in 298 Posts
Default

Looks nice but if you have a kill a watt you already have all the functionality except CO2. The larger display is a plus. Its always nice to have options!
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-12, 10:40 PM   #3
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,869
Thanks: 106
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

I loaned out my Kill-a-watt and when it came back it was beat up..
I think my friend had it hooked up to some real heavy loads for too long..
Every time I use it, I can smell that burning electronics smell..

I'll post a review on this new one, after I check it out.. I plan to run it on the AirTap ASHP..
__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-12, 09:56 AM   #4
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,869
Thanks: 106
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Here's part 2
Part 2: Ensupra Power Usage Monitor review / Kill-a-watt / WANF - YouTube
__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-12, 08:35 PM   #5
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,869
Thanks: 106
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default It came this morning..

Seems like a real nice meter.. So far, I like it..


During the last 8 hours, I've been doing some high-powered computing (COD4)
and I've used about 13.53 cents in power (Right now: 13.85 cents / 0.835 kwh)..

The screen looks bad, because I have not removed the protective film yet.
I think that I'll order one more of these..
__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-12, 10:46 AM   #6
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,869
Thanks: 106
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default Meter #2

My second meter came in (from Texas) this morning and it looks good!

The CE label on the meter says: 110v-60hz, 15A & 1800W.
The Plug says 15a 125v~ (molded into the plastic).


http://ensupra.com/online/templateme...User+Guide.pdf
BUT, I noticed the paper spec sheet says "Voltage working range: 95Vac ~ 276Vac"..

● Working condition:
Working Voltage:95Vac~276Vac
Voltage Frequency:45~65HZ
Working Current:≤15A
Working Temperature:14~122F


If that's for real, these meters can be used with 240vac, and load, up around 3.6 KW.?.
Of course, you would need 120/240 plug adapters.

I made a temporary 240-120 adapter when I was repairing a Sanyo ODU in the garage,
but I do not recommend this practice, since it could be very dangerous. (Electrocution and/or fire).
__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Xringer For This Useful Post:
Daox (07-06-12)
Old 07-18-12, 10:25 AM   #7
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,869
Thanks: 106
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

I'm seeing what looks like a problem with both my meters.

I see this every few days (0n both meters). When the load (a PC) drops off to a couple of watts at night,
the wattage display will hang up, (Like 2.2W) and will not change under load change. I have to use the reset button..
Not liking this bug. Means I won't be able to monitor my little heat pump, long term.

I sent off a quirky to the Ebay vendor. I'll post their response..

One possible cause, could be erratic power spikes.?.
My TED shows we had 141.2VAC line voltage at 8:42AM..

That means my Sanyos were running on 282.4 vac!!
The TED must be recording very short spikes or is just NG..
__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-12, 11:52 AM   #8
GaryGary
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW Montana
Posts: 139
Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Very nice -- decided to order one in spite of the little glitch you are having.

I hope its your voltage spike that causing the problem as I'd like to monitor a couple things long term that drop to zero power at times. I've tried this with my Kill A Watt, and always had the bad luck to have a little power outage that reset the Kill A Watt. It looks like this one might survive small power outages.

Do you have the batteries installed in your unit?

Gary
GaryGary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-12, 02:24 PM   #9
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,869
Thanks: 106
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Yeah it came with 2 little cells in a bag..
It's nice to be able to check the readings without being plugged-in.
The display does time-out pretty quickly. Battery saver I guess.

Just got a reply from the dealer.. Will post about it later.

Edit: 18:24 7/18/12
The dealer wants me to send them back. But, I want to do more testing.
I'm running them on my Plasma HDTV and my refrigerator.
If the 'watts' display still hangs up, I'll have to return them..
__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..

Last edited by Xringer; 07-18-12 at 06:23 PM..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-12, 08:07 PM   #10
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,869
Thanks: 106
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default Working fine!

After a week of testing, both units seem to be working great.
No more watt meter hang ups. The kWh rate setting is 16.61

The one on the HDTV/audio/entertainment load is showing:
7 days, 5 hr & 10 min
10.10 kWh
167.8 cost (Actually about $1.68).

The unit on the small basement freezer displays:
1 day, 21 hr & 17 min
5.011 kWh
83.27 (or about 83 cents).

The day and time displayed aren't the same, because the freezer turns
all the way OFF when coasting. The HDTV etc are always on, wasting power.
This is a nice feature, if you want to watch the total run time of the DUT.

I'm not sure what happened with the watt display hanging up,
but the power here isn't real clean, so it might have been hit with a voltage spike.
Both units have been reset (toothpick button) and now seem to be running perfectly.

__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design