EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-15, 08:40 AM   #51
MEMPHIS91
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
MEMPHIS91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oxford, MS USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 69
Thanked 87 Times in 61 Posts
Default

I for sure did NOT burn up this reversing valve. I cut the suction side (middle bottom port) back open and I can make it move with the camera head of my inspection camera.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	KIMG0285 - Copy.jpg
Views:	736
Size:	287.6 KB
ID:	6078  
MEMPHIS91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-15, 08:07 PM   #52
MEMPHIS91
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
MEMPHIS91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oxford, MS USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 69
Thanked 87 Times in 61 Posts
Default

Suction line to the pilot valve was blocked. I'm brazing everything back up and will charge it up again tonight.
MEMPHIS91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-15, 09:04 PM   #53
pinballlooking
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,766
Thanks: 162
Thanked 531 Times in 435 Posts
Default

Glad you found the issue.
pinballlooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-15, 08:23 AM   #54
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,369
Thanks: 389
Thanked 600 Times in 502 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default

Awesome debugging skills demonstrated, Jake. You should take the hacker first class test soon. I have no doubt you would pass with distinction. Then you could take your skills anywhere and rule.

Seriously though, I am anxious to see if your 4way to 3way valve conversion is sufficient to assume control without any strange side effects. A single valve with one solenoid is a good example of "less is more". Again, I have my fingers crossed.
jeff5may is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-15, 01:56 PM   #55
MEMPHIS91
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
MEMPHIS91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oxford, MS USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 69
Thanked 87 Times in 61 Posts
Default

I got everything put back together and it works great! No problems at all. I am still fine tuning everything. Playing with the charge and call tubes.

Thanks Jeff, is there such a test? Lol

More pictures and details soon.
MEMPHIS91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-15, 06:19 PM   #56
MEMPHIS91
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
MEMPHIS91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oxford, MS USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 69
Thanked 87 Times in 61 Posts
Default

Just to go over exactly what kept this system from working perfectly as designed the first time was bad brazing on my part (again). This is the joint that was the issue (the one at the end of the white sucker stick ((this suckers are awesome! Yummy Earth, Organic Pops, Assorted Flavors, 50+ Pops, 12.3 oz (349 g) - iHerb.com))).

This is the old one.

I got the joint and tubing to hot and it pulled the braze into the tubing. Solution was to make the joint longer and shove the tubing deeper into the joint and hit it with quick heat, braze, and stop to let the joint cool between brazing each end.

I had the psi at 40 suction and 245 discharge this morning and it was heating well but I still was not getting my suction temp anything lower than 70F. I know this is ok but I would like to see it drop a lot to know I am really sucking the heat out of the ground.
So I was going to add more charge to increase latent heat but I should have waited til it was colder, it got up to 85F today and my system showed it.
Needless to say I can't fill any R290 or R600 when both at at 50 psi at room temp. I though about adding some R152A because its at 75psi at room temp. But I'll do more testing tonight and the next few days as it gets cooler.

Jeff, I can see NO liquid in the sight glass or anything crazy happen when I swap from air to fish tank condenser.

Only concern I have is that when I started it up this afternoon, TONS of liquid was flowing through the sight glass (it is right before the accumulator) for about 20 seconds. Is this normal? I can not think of why it would? Could it all be settling at the bottom?

Anyway, system WORKS as is. I'm still waiting on a built in amp/watt/volt meter to get here. As of this morning it was showing 3.5AMPS and discharge temp was 176F.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	KIMG0296.jpg
Views:	655
Size:	341.5 KB
ID:	6087   Click image for larger version

Name:	KIMG0297.jpg
Views:	666
Size:	325.7 KB
ID:	6088   Click image for larger version

Name:	KIMG0295.jpg
Views:	646
Size:	332.5 KB
ID:	6089  
MEMPHIS91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-15, 10:22 PM   #57
MEMPHIS91
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
MEMPHIS91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oxford, MS USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 69
Thanked 87 Times in 61 Posts
Default

15 seconds 6 pictures.








Is this normal? I'm guessing that very very little really ever makes it to the compressor.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	KIMG0298.jpg
Views:	674
Size:	273.2 KB
ID:	6093   Click image for larger version

Name:	KIMG0302.jpg
Views:	665
Size:	286.9 KB
ID:	6094   Click image for larger version

Name:	KIMG0303.jpg
Views:	679
Size:	289.5 KB
ID:	6095   Click image for larger version

Name:	KIMG0299.jpg
Views:	678
Size:	297.7 KB
ID:	6096   Click image for larger version

Name:	KIMG0300.jpg
Views:	667
Size:	290.6 KB
ID:	6097  

Click image for larger version

Name:	KIMG0301.jpg
Views:	675
Size:	281.0 KB
ID:	6098  
__________________
שְׁמַע יִשְׂרָאֵל ה' אֱלֹהֵינוּ ה' אֶחָד
MEMPHIS91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-15, 01:31 AM   #58
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,369
Thanks: 389
Thanked 600 Times in 502 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default

Probably the butane that is not evaporated in the loop. The high pressure in the evaporator is not forcing a low enough boiling point on the butane. I have a sneaky suspicion that you have a lot of liquid butane living in the accumulator after the unit has run up to its balance point. It can only exist at these high pressures as a subcooled liquid, except the tiny fraction that dissolves in the propane due to partial pressure.

Propane Butane Mix - Evaporation Pressure
jeff5may is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-15, 07:54 AM   #59
MEMPHIS91
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
MEMPHIS91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oxford, MS USA
Posts: 496
Thanks: 69
Thanked 87 Times in 61 Posts
Default

Jeff, Sorry I totally forgot to say that after your suggestions about not using the R600 I decided not to. I mentioned it in a previous post to say that the pressures were about the same as R290.
So am I understanding this right? I need a higher suction pressure? I think that is the only way to get more flow/capacity. So I may open up my cap tube some and charge with a higher pressure gas. In which case I only have 2 options. R152A or R134A
__________________
שְׁמַע יִשְׂרָאֵל ה' אֱלֹהֵינוּ ה' אֶחָד
MEMPHIS91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-15, 10:14 AM   #60
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,369
Thanks: 389
Thanked 600 Times in 502 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEMPHIS91 View Post
Jeff, Sorry I totally forgot to say that after your suggestions about not using the R600 I decided not to. I mentioned it in a previous post to say that the pressures were about the same as R290.
So am I understanding this right? I need a higher suction pressure? I think that is the only way to get more flow/capacity. So I may open up my cap tube some and charge with a higher pressure gas. In which case I only have 2 options. R152A or R134A
Both of these gases have lower vapor pressures than propane. To pull lots of heat from the ground, either one would need less than 25 psi gauge pressure. For pure propane, you are probably a little overcharged already. For higher vapor pressures you need to go the other way, towards methane, ethane, ether and the like.

If you are trying to force feed your compressor more pressure to make it act like r410 you have your work cut out for you. In fact, there are no real substitutes for r410. It was engineering and management racking up hours of work that came up with the stuff in the first place. The closer gases to it in behavior will not run at the high pressures and burn things up if you force them to.

jeff5may is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jeff5may For This Useful Post:
MEMPHIS91 (10-16-15), stevehull (10-16-15)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design