EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Tools
Advanced Search
 


Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-14, 04:39 AM   #11
oil pan 4
Land owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NM
Posts: 1,025
Thanks: 12
Thanked 127 Times in 107 Posts
Default

Have you ever seen a GFI fail?
When they fail catastrophically they put out a lot of heat then.

I have found that even after you turn off certain AV toys they still continue to suck down just as much power.
About like a wall warts power consumption when its unhooked versus actually charging or powering some small item.

I am thinking about buying one. The price on their base model units has just about been cut in have over the last 8 to 10 years.
I see anything from electrical trouble shooting, bearing health monitor, automotive, welding preheat and post heating, HVAC, energy use and conservation, security, extermination and hunting.

oil pan 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-14, 01:48 PM   #12
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,001
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oil pan 4 View Post
Have you ever seen a GFI fail?
Yes, I had one fail. I had placed it under the kitchen sink, and a 'leak situation' caused it to fail.

Since then I have learned that normal GFIs are not meant for wet area use, and that if you want to use a normal GDI, you need to locate it in it's own box, in a dry area, and then run lines to the area that could be wet.

Wet Area GFIs are also available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oil pan 4 View Post
When they fail catastrophically they put out a lot of heat then.
I didn't notice that but I don't doubt that it would be true.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oil pan 4 View Post
I have found that even after you turn off certain AV toys they still continue to suck down just as much power.
About like a wall warts power consumption when its unhooked versus actually charging or powering some small item.
Yeah, that was my insight too, when I saw the Flir pix. It's horrible. I think that they were designed before "energystar" ratings happened, and that the very same functionality could be had at a small fraction of the wasted energy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oil pan 4 View Post
I am thinking about buying one. The price on their base model units has just about been cut in have over the last 8 to 10 years.
I see anything from electrical trouble shooting, bearing health monitor, automotive, welding preheat and post heating, HVAC, energy use and conservation, security, extermination and hunting.
Great! I think that they are extremely useful.

But I rented mine specifically to check out house leaks, and I certainly got a To-Do list out of my experience.

For my use, it would be better to rent a unit and spend the money that a purchase would consume, on materials and time to implement the changes that I now realize need to be made.

Best,

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-14, 12:19 AM   #13
oil pan 4
Land owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NM
Posts: 1,025
Thanks: 12
Thanked 127 Times in 107 Posts
Default

I had a GFI catch fire at work after getting wet.
You absolutely can not let water get on them. When energized they react as if made from metallic sodium when they get wet.
I don't care what NEC says, I am not putting them down low where they can get wet or any where outside. In cases like that use a GFI breaker in the breaker box.
Until recently I actually liked the concept of GFI receptacles or remote GFIs, because GFI breakers tend to nuisance trip a lot.
I will take the nuisance trip prone breakers now.
Any GFI receptacle should have a cover on it IMO.

Also at the scrap yard several months ago, I found 20+ perfectly good GFI receptacles and one completely burned up and melted one.
I couldn't understand why someone would rip out several hundred dollars worth of new, perfectly good GFI receptacles and toss them.
Now I see why.

Last edited by oil pan 4; 12-04-14 at 12:25 AM..
oil pan 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-14, 12:56 AM   #14
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,001
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oil pan 4 View Post
...I couldn't understand why someone would rip out several hundred dollars worth of new, perfectly good GFI receptacles and toss them. Now I see why.
oil pan,

Good information here.

I think that 'Arc Fault' sensing receptacles and breaker box modules are being implemented in new construction now.

If I understand it correctly, Arc Fault units can sense an arcing condition in a line and cut power to that circuit when arcing occurs. This makes very good sense to me, because arcing generates tremendous heat, and is an ignition source.

I am not an expert on Electricity Code, at all. What I am relaying is scuttlebutt that I have heard from some friends who spend a lot more time with Code Books than I do.

So, it might be that the dumped GFI units were due to code upgrades.

I do know that under proper conditions, GFI units work very well. When I was doing my backyard hole-drilling and loop field installation, I was using a GFI protected circuit. I kept getting false-positives from the GFI, so I switched to another non GFI circuit... and that was when I received the shocking realization that I was working in the rain with ungrounded machinery, and that my equipment was "hot".

So, I do understand the legitimate role that GFIs play.

Best,

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-14, 08:41 AM   #15
Servicetech
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Servicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 267
Thanks: 108
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Cool Thread, following.
BTW what do you do for a living?
Servicetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-14, 08:29 PM   #16
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,001
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Servicetech View Post
Cool Thread, following.
BTW what do you do for a living?
Formerly technical knowledge.

Now I raise hell full time.

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-14, 03:43 AM   #17
gtojohn
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
gtojohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 314
Thanks: 39
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Fluke VT02 Visual IR Thermometer
Less than $250 right now on Amazon. A little lower resolution than the vt04 and flir3 but at a price I can justify to myself.
gtojohn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gtojohn For This Useful Post:
AC_Hacker (12-07-14), Servicetech (12-07-14)
Old 12-07-14, 10:42 AM   #18
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,001
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default

I know a guy who works for Flir, and in a conversation with him, I was using the term "IR" and he corrected me, saying that thermal imaging was in a lower frequency range, and much harder to work with. He's a tech guy, not a marketing guy, so I tend to believe him.

But, regarding less expensive alternatives, if you have a compatible smartphone, there are thermal imaging options that leverage the phone and it's circuitry and operating system. So you're only buying part of a thermal Imager, but you're getting full benefit.

Here's the Flir version, some of the others may be even better...

I noticed that this version uses two cameras and it merges a visible image with a thermal image. It could be because this product's thermal image is very low resolution. on the other hand, this seems like it could be a good idea, because I was having a bit of difficulty, looking at the Flir 7 images and pinpointing exactly where a particular, small hot spot was.

BTW, other thermal imager/phone options were mentioned earlier in this thread.

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-14, 11:38 AM   #19
Servicetech
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Servicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 267
Thanks: 108
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Does FLIR make one for Samsung Galaxy?
Servicetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-14, 12:00 PM   #20
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,001
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Servicetech View Post
Does FLIR make one for Samsung Galaxy?
In the thread, earlier up, I mentioned about three different units. There may be more that I don't know about.

Each brand will have a "required" page on their site.

Go for it!!

-AC

__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design