EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Appliances & Gadgets
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-15, 08:48 AM   #1
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 369 Times in 300 Posts
Default Help get furnace running, basement flooded

So, I get home from work last night to 18" of water in my basement. The sump pump didn't kick on (the float switch stuck) and it had been raining all day long. I waded through the very cold water, jiggled the float switch, and it kicked on. 3 hours later, I was down there inspecting things and trying to get the furnace running again. Part of the control board had been submerged. I'm not sure exactly how high the water got, perhaps some of the blower motor was submerged as well.

Thankfully, its not super cold out right now so I have some time to get it running.

Anyway, I'd very much appreciate some help getting this thing running again. Here is what happens, it almost works... The exhaust fan kicks on, the igniter powers up, the gas valve kicks on and it fires up. Everything is good until this point. Then I hear the relay click for the main blower fan to kick on and nothing happens. So, I assume that something in the blower motor circuit is bad. In my mind that means a bad motor, bad capacitor, or the relay that I hear click is actually not working correctly. I haven't been able to test any of the components yet. Testing the relay to make sure it is sending power to the motor will be the next step pending any additional info you guys can provide.

Here are a few pics. I think the water came up a bit beyond the bottom of the control board, but not real far up. Unfortunately, the bottom of the control board is where all the relays are.




Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150409_223753.jpg
Views:	827
Size:	108.6 KB
ID:	5130   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150409_223500.jpg
Views:	632
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	5131  
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-15, 10:56 AM   #2
gtojohn
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
gtojohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 314
Thanks: 39
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Default

probably the board its the weakest link. Try "fan on" on the thermostat to see if the blower kicks on. Usually this is a different relay. If that works you can temporarily change the thermostat over to electric heat and it will do this automatically. Does the flame stay on for a minute or more before shutting down like overheating, or does it shut off after about 3-5 seconds, flame not sensed. Looks like your board is new enough to flash you some error codes. You can test the motor by jumping a motor tap to hot.
gtojohn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gtojohn For This Useful Post:
Daox (04-10-15), Servicetech (04-11-15)
Old 04-10-15, 12:16 PM   #3
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 369 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Thanks John. I'll try those suggestions!
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-15, 04:52 PM   #4
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 369 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Oh yeah, the flame does stay on for maybe 15 seconds or so. I don't think its a problem with the flame not being detected.

Yeah, the board has an LED. It blinks once the blower fan fails to start. The exhaust fan stays on and it goes through its cycle again.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-15, 07:43 PM   #5
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 369 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Thanks a ton gtojohn. That got me up and running for now.

Looking on ebay, it looks like a new control board is about $35. So, I think I'll just go that route.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Daox For This Useful Post:
Servicetech (04-11-15)
Old 04-29-15, 12:17 PM   #6
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 369 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Quick little update. After I got the fan going with gtojohn's suggestion, the control board must have dried up enough. Its working fine and I have a spare now if anything happens.

Thanks for the help!

__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design