EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Solar Power
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-02-14, 04:12 PM   #1
bte52
Lurking Renovator

Default 12V Battery Question Please

I recently decided that I wanted to delve into the world of solar energy. Ultimately, I would like to have our home totally off the grid, however, one has to start somewhere. I live in Salisbury, MD 21804 and gave myself a budget of $450 to assemble a portable setup to use on my deck and in the even of a power outage. Please be advised that I am by no means an expert and I have little experince with things electrical. I do follow directions well and am handy around the house. I spent hours and hours reseraching, watching YouTube videos and reading articles on this subject.

I purchased this panel from eco-worthy.com: 100W (2*50W) 12V folding mono solar panel with 15A solar charge controller:

I also purchased a GT Power Watt Meter and Power Bright 1100 Watt AC DC Inverter.

I probably put the wagon in front of the horse but I purchased a battery today and this is the only part of this system that I'm not sure of. I purchased a Deka Batteries EPM DC27 with these specs: 715ca, 200m@23a90ah cycle. Do you guys think this battery will be OK with my setup? Any help or suggestins would be greatly apprciated. BTW, I came in over budget at $510 including a $13 core charge on the battery :-)

Thank You,
Ed

bte52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-14, 07:21 PM   #2
OffGridKindaGuy
Hi-Tech Hillbilly

Send a message via AIM to OffGridKindaGuy

Fantastic! Great little set up to learn with. It has its limitations but with that GT Power Watt Meter handy, you'll learn what you can do with it..