EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Appliances & Gadgets
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-12, 09:50 AM   #1
scottorious
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bloomington IL
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default deep freeze to fridge conversion

So I have seen a couple well documented conversions on the internet. Nobody ever gives up which thermostat they used though. Anyone have any suggestions?

scottorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-12, 11:21 AM   #2
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottorious View Post
So I have seen a couple well documented conversions on the internet. Nobody ever gives up which thermostat they used though. Anyone have any suggestions?
I'm really interested in that conversion also. I bought a nice thermostat from a home-brewing store here, in the town where I live. They had two models, each well-made. The less expensive one was an analog unit, and the more expensive unit had a digital readout. I figured that once I got the converted freezer up & running, and got the temperature dialed in, the LED readout would be a useless expense, so I bought the analog unit.

Unfortunately, I have several projects going on and the temperature controller has gotten misplaced amidst the chaos. So, until I re-discover it, my conversion project is on hold.

I don't know if you have a Kill-a-Watt, but it will be super useful for you to log power use.

Also, having a top-access refrigerator will call for some retraining.

BTW, I have a small freezer in the cellar that has been in service for about 25 years. My Kill-a-Watt indicates that it is consuming about $25 per year. With your reduced duty cycle, your new refrigerator should run at very low cost and last you a very long time!

Good luck with your project...

[* I'm sure that any freezer will work very well and at minimum expense, but I did notice that in the project that Tom Chalko did, he started with the most efficient freezer he could get. http://mtbest.net/chest_fridge_1.pdf *]

Best,

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-12, 10:33 AM   #3
vmike
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stillwater, OK
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I've done these for dedicated lab operations several times. For basically, standard operation, I use a Dayton Controls 2E206 temperature controller, you can buy them from Graingers and other places. They're around + or - 2 degrees F. For precision applications I've used the CN370 series programmable temperature controllers from Omega or a similar Red Lion control. Both about three times the price of the Dayton, not counting the addition of the thermocouple and relay needed.

mike

__________________
I tried to contain myself, but I escaped.
vmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design