EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Solar Power
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-09, 07:50 AM   #81
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 369 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Haha, its the 'ol mod fever. The more you mod, the more mods you want/need to make!

Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-09, 08:00 AM   #82
b4u2
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I built my own 100W panel last month. I just ordered an Emphases inverter last night. I found a site that has good prices on them. It's nice to find another DIY'er that is starting small like I will. I don't have thousands of dollars to start this project but this is great because I can add to it as I can afford it. Did you have to buy the AC install branch kit?

Last edited by b4u2; 06-05-09 at 02:31 PM..
b4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-09, 08:14 AM   #83
b4u2
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

JWXR7 are you using the P4400 Kill A Watt meter?
b4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-09, 02:08 AM   #84
groar
X-Frenchy: very
 
groar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toulouse, France
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b4u2 View Post
I built my own 100W panel last month. I just ordered an Emphases inverter last night. I found a site that has good prices on them. It's nice to find another DIY'er that is starting small like I will. I don't have thousands of dollars to start this project but this is great because I can add to it as I can afford it. Did you have to buy the AC install branch kit?
Hi b4u2, and welcome on-board.

Tell us more about your project. Don't hesitate to create your own thread and flood us with details

Denis.
__________________
Earth absorbs 1.8 t CO2/head/yr, while a French generates 6.2 t CO2/yr
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
  • kg saved 06/08-08/09: 1816.9+382.9 (ecodriving / 1420mi not driven) = 2199.8
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    (2.66 kg/l diesel)
  • kg saved by 3kWc photo-voltaic solar panels : 187 kg/yr
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    (59.1 g/kWh)
Radioactive wastes saved by 3kWc photo-voltaic solar panels :
  • Long life (>100,000 years) : 2.85 g/yr (0.9 mg/kWh)
  • Short life (<300 years) : 31.7 g/yr (10.0 mg/kWh)
Based upon "official" French figures...
groar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-09, 09:44 AM   #85
jwxr7
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
jwxr7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b4u2 View Post
I built my own 100W panel last month. I just ordered an Emphases inverter last night. I found a site that has good prices on them. It's nice to find another DIY'er that is starting small like I will. I don't have thousands of dollars to start this project but this is great because I can add to it as I can afford it. Did you have to buy the AC install branch kit?
Cool, My Kill-A-Watt is the P4400.

Last edited by jwxr7; 07-15-10 at 06:32 AM..
jwxr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-09, 07:33 PM   #86
b4u2
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I use my pocket pc phone a lot during the day and the word predictor likes to really mess up my words LOL. I may start a thread when I start building my second panel. I built the first one just to see how it would turn out. I am not real sure if I like the design I came up with but it works. I am trying to find cheaper ways to build it. I would like to have more power output from the panel but the larger cells cost so much it's not worth it. A lot of the free instructions online are not very detailed and I want to make good instructions with pictures.
JWXR7 maybe you would share your cheaper way of setting up the wiring of the Enphase inverter? The company I ordered the inverter thru says there on back-order so I have no idea when I will get it now.
b4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-09, 12:22 PM   #87
jwxr7
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
jwxr7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

good luck!

Last edited by jwxr7; 07-15-10 at 06:33 AM..
jwxr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 08:29 AM   #88
b4u2
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

since I am building my own panels I can use whatever cables will work for me. the company I ordered my inverter thru went out of business & cancelled my order so I will have to order from somewhere else now. I have this 24v 100W panel & I can't do anything with it.
b4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 08:35 AM   #89
b4u2
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I checked my TOU meter & it is a GE KVs model. I watched the display & it does not give me all the readings I want so I am going to see if I can get that changed. the main thing I want is to be able to see instantaneous use. when I flip the switch on my solar system I want to see the number drop. plus I can look for things to kill that are drawing power when I don't need them to.
b4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 09:40 AM   #90
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 369 Times in 300 Posts
Default

You could use your 24V panel to charge two deep cycle 12V batteries in series. Then all you would need is a 24V inverter to run AC devices.

Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
electric, solar

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design