EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Solar Power
Advanced Search
 


Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-10, 03:43 PM   #1
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default Off-the-grid with grid-tie inverter?




http://ecorenovator.org/forum/applia...-inverter.html


http://ecorenovator.org/forum/solar-...-inverter.html


If this configuration would actually Start up, it seems like the 12VDC-to-120VAC inverter
would be using very little from the battery, since the grid-tie inverter
would try to make it's voltage just a tad higher..

Anyways, I was thinking this might be the lowest cost way to DIY off-grid power..

If it did work, you could stack the little 300 watt grid-tie (or Enphase) GTIs
and get some nice power-point-tracking from each panel..


Comments please:

Thanks,
Rich

Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-10, 04:10 PM   #2
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,452
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 362 Times in 294 Posts
Default

It looks interesting. But, in order for this setup to be legal, you'd still need some sort of disconnect going to your service panel. Or, are you thinking the grid tie will take care of that?
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-10, 04:24 PM   #3
NiHaoMike
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
NiHaoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,125
Thanks: 15
Thanked 245 Times in 231 Posts
Default

It would be cheaper to just use a regular inverter.
__________________
To my surprise, shortly after Naomi Wu gave me a bit of fame for making good use of solar power, Allie Moore got really jealous of her...
NiHaoMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-10, 04:26 PM   #4
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

I'm thinking more along the lines of taking a couple of 200 watt panels camping with you,
or to some remote cabin site..

The idea here, is to use the much cheaper grid-tie micro-inverters, off-the-grid.

Or, maybe you have to do some light construction work, way out in the boondocks?
Haul out some 220 watt panels, a little power-box to hook up to your 12v truck battery,
connect up some panels and you could run small power tools and charge
up the rechargeable power tools on site. (If the sun stayed out).

Would not replace a gas generator, but might be good if you didn't need 5KW..

I'm pretty sure that PV is going to get a lot cheaper, pretty soon..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-10, 04:31 PM   #5
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiHaoMike View Post
It would be cheaper to just use a regular inverter.

You can, when the clouds come in..

Of course, it would be even cheaper if you used a hand-cranked generator..

Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-10, 04:40 PM   #6
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,452
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 362 Times in 294 Posts
Default

If this setup is completely off grid why do you even need the grid tie inverter?
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-10, 07:39 PM   #7
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Because, they are compatible with many PV panels, cheap &,
they are scalable when used off-grid or with a grid-tie system..

Scalability is important if you only need (or can only only afford) a few hundred watts.
You can meet that need at a reasonable price with micro-inverters.




Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 07:30 AM   #8
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,452
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 362 Times in 294 Posts
Default

I was under the impression that grid tie inverters need to be connected to the grid to work.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 08:56 AM   #9
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

Leo, Do you Know what the Gird is? Do you want to know the truth?

The answer, the number 60. As in 60 Hz. The voltage is 120 or 230.

So, as I've said before, if you can trick the GTI into thinking it's
connected to the grid, then it will work..

That's why the 12Vdc-to-120Vac inverter needs to have a pretty clean output.

I'm pretty sure that my little modified-sine-wave inverter would NOT work.
But I'll bet an old UPS (computer back-up Un-interruptable Power Supply) would work just fine.


And, it has it's own LA pack!
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 09:30 AM   #10
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,452
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 362 Times in 294 Posts
Default

I suppose that makes some sense. It just seems a bit more complicated than it needs to be.

__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design