EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Renovations & New Construction
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-13, 09:10 PM   #1
RobbMeeX
Eco OWNER!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: ATL
Posts: 99
Thanks: 25
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default PEX on slab... need some way to replace carpet...

So I've been searching and searching. I've got carpet in a few rooms. I want to take it out and put pex on the slab. I'm searching for a way to cover the pex and put floor on top. I don't have a lot of thickness at my disposal. I guess the question here is how thin can a PEX installed floor be? I have been looking at can't find a good answer. Maybe I am overthinking this. Can someone help?

__________________
In it for the money (savings)
RobbMeeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-13, 10:10 PM   #2
stevehull
Steve Hull
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: hilly, tree covered Arcadia, OK USA
Posts: 829
Thanks: 241
Thanked 165 Times in 123 Posts
Default

This is not ideal, but here is how I would do it. Remove carpet, baseboards and prepare to pour 3 inches of concrete on top of the slab. Pex secured to existing slab.

You need a minimum of 3 inches for a concrete pour to be firm and not to crack.

Now shave 3 inches off doors, etc . . .

Steve
__________________
consulting on geothermal heating/cooling & rational energy use since 1990
stevehull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-13, 09:51 AM   #3
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,471
Thanks: 1,110
Thanked 367 Times in 298 Posts
Default

The way I'm planning on doing it in my office I'm still remodeling is tear my carpet up, put down a layer of rigid foam insulation (prevent heat loss downward and use to adjust to optimum floor height), then wooden spacers for the pex tubing, lay pex tubing in grooves with aluminum heat spreaders (example) as shown below.



Then, you just put your flooring on top of that. In my case I'm going with bamboo. This adds very a minimal amount of thickness to the floor.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-13, 09:27 PM   #4
greif
a van down by the river
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kaukauna,WI
Posts: 108
Thanks: 6
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Most pours use 2 in of gypcrete, if this is an existing floor you made need to reinforce
__________________
Gary R

“If you want total security, go to prison. There you're fed, clothed, given medical care and so on. The only thing lacking... is freedom. ” ― Dwight D. Eisenhower
greif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-13, 10:40 AM   #5
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbMeeX View Post
So I've been searching and searching. I've got carpet in a few rooms. I want to take it out and put pex on the slab.
It sounds like you already have a slab floor. Almost certainly, the slab is not insulated. We did have a poster from Denmark, as I recall, who actually went in with a metal grinder and cut slots in a pre-existing concrete basement floor for installing PEX... must have been a horrible job to do. We never heard back from him, so I don't know of the degree of success of his method. He had a major PEX project and this was only a small part.

Hot water piped through an uninsulated slab is the way they use to do it originally. There is heat loss downward but that heat loss seems to stabilize to a certain extent, after a while. There is also heat loss around the edges that doesn't really stabilize. I have heard tales of flowers planted around the perimeter off these houses that lasted through the winter!

As far as cracked floors in a concrete pour go, the cracking is to be expected, and crack lines are intentionally put in the concrete to control where the cracks will occur.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbMeeX View Post
I'm searching for a way to cover the pex and put floor on top. I don't have a lot of thickness at my disposal. I guess the question here is how thin can a PEX installed floor be? I have been looking at can't find a good answer.

There is a product called Roth Panel that is high-density foam that is faced with .020" aluminum and the PEX channels are already formed in. The high density foam is about 3/4" thick and offers R-3.5 insulation against downward heat migration. Floor goes on top of this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbMeeX View Post
Maybe I am overthinking this.
No, not yet.

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-13, 11:00 AM   #6
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,471
Thanks: 1,110
Thanked 367 Times in 298 Posts
Default

That roth panel looks really nice. I don't suppose you have any idea where you can buy it? I didn't see any distributor information on their website.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-13, 12:07 PM   #7
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daox View Post
That roth panel looks really nice. I don't suppose you have any idea where you can buy it? I didn't see any distributor information on their website.
I'd say to use the "contact" tab and ask them directly.

I found a supplier local to me that way.

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-13, 03:08 PM   #8
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,471
Thanks: 1,110
Thanked 367 Times in 298 Posts
Default

Blah... I did that. They gave me a few local places. Nobody will sell to me because I'm not liscensed.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-13, 06:46 PM   #9
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daox View Post
Blah... I did that. They gave me a few local places. Nobody will sell to me because I'm not liscensed.
So what kind of license is required?

I did find a local installer who would sell Roth Panel to me to DIY, but even though the product looks great, the price was pretty horrible.

I'm looking into doing "AC_Hacker Panel". What was holding me back was high density insulating foam. I found some and it's called HIGHLOAD 60 (Dow), R5/in, pretty expensive ($75 per 4'x8'x2"). Thinest is 2". I'm figuring on using a hot wire to cut it into strips, and doing a floor like Vlad did, only using foam (R-5/in) instead of wood (R1/in). I'm figuring on doing a 12'x12' room, and I figure it will take a bit less than 2 panels ($150) to do the job.

It would be so much easier to go with Roth Panel, but it's so expensive.

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-13, 09:11 PM   #10
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,471
Thanks: 1,110
Thanked 367 Times in 298 Posts
Default

I'm not sure exactly what licenses are out there, HVAC I assume. I guessed it would be expensive, most of these 'flooring solutions' are, but it would be SO much faster and easier than DIY... I'd at least like to get a cost. What was the estimate for your 12x12 room? Thats not too far off from what my room size is.

__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design