EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Renovations & New Construction
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-12, 08:15 PM   #1
Fordguy64
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cincinnati ohio
Posts: 334
Thanks: 33
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Default Remodeling the basement..

Well a little back ground on house.. i just bought the place 11-30-11 its a 1700sqft house with a full "finished basement" its a 4 bed 2 bath. 2nd bath and 4th bed room are in the basement and neither are usuable. im going to talk to my auditor to see what i have to do to get the 4th bed taken of the house. ( i dont need a 4th bed) i purchased it for less then half of its value the guy i got it from paid 211K in 2008 i got it for 100k (short sale i think he just got a divorce) and the house is on 3.3 acres in the middle of the city..

Ok now lets get down to business.. my plans are (not in any order)
1.insulate/ seal everything up tight
2.redo some wiring (see pic below)
3.make the bath a little bigger and remove bed room
4.structured wiring for the house (cat6 coax phone)
5.redo some plumbing in the 2nd bath
6.redo duct work it leaks everywhere..
and much much more..

and this is only half of the basement.. the other half will get done when this side is done








bath is the door on left middle door is just a weird little room and the door on the right is the bedroom


this is looking back at where the first pic was taken. (20 year old furnace on the list of things to replace)


its hard to see but the actually insulated the ceiling in the basement.. the however did not seal up the rim joists or anything..


can o wires anyone??

Fordguy64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-12, 10:18 AM   #2
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 1,110
Thanked 367 Times in 298 Posts
Default

Sounds like a fun project, and lots of work too.

BTW, your pictures aren't loading.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-12, 11:07 AM   #3
Fordguy64
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cincinnati ohio
Posts: 334
Thanks: 33
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Hmm do they work now?
Fordguy64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-12, 11:08 AM   #4
strider3700
Master EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver Island BC
Posts: 745
Thanks: 23
Thanked 37 Times in 30 Posts
Default

pics work fine here.

What's the tube running from the furnace for?
strider3700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-12, 11:40 AM   #5
Fordguy64
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cincinnati ohio
Posts: 334
Thanks: 33
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Default

The white one on the floor? That's the drain for the ac coil and the humidifier
Fordguy64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-12, 12:50 PM   #6
strider3700
Master EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver Island BC
Posts: 745
Thanks: 23
Thanked 37 Times in 30 Posts
Default

wow that's annoyingly placed isn't it.

Are you planning on gutting to the studs and starting over or trying to fix what you have?
strider3700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-12, 02:04 PM   #7
Fordguy64
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cincinnati ohio
Posts: 334
Thanks: 33
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Default

yes it will be changed also.. ill try to get some drawings up in the next day or 2 of the current lay out and of the final layout..
Fordguy64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-12, 11:58 AM   #8
S-F
You Ain't Me
 
S-F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northampton MA
Posts: 662
Thanks: 6
Thanked 70 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Are you planning any insulation or air sealing methods in particular? I am finding that insulating a foundation and air sealing up the basement nets about a %18-25 reduction in energy usage, summer and winter. Not to mention that you can then finish the area and gain a good deal of living space.

I look forward to seeing this play out.

And you might want to check out my basement thread. There's a lot of information there put forth by me and other members.

Good luck!

EDIT: One more thing. I saw you mention running both CAT 6 and phone. No need. Just run two CAT 6 lines. You can plug a phone right into an RJ 45 jack. Then you can use it for data instead when you decide to scrap POTS and go with VOIP or a central cordless system, or both, like I did.

Last edited by S-F; 01-18-12 at 12:01 PM..
S-F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-12, 05:52 PM   #9
Fordguy64
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cincinnati ohio
Posts: 334
Thanks: 33
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Well S-F its funny that you say i should check your thread out because i already have lol and i plan on doing things similar to yours.. i dont think ill be going the spray foam route probably just the 2 inch foam and the great stuff route on that.

so here is some progress from today..


inside of the bed room





previous owners wiring...








Most of the joists are like this.. i have lots of sealing to do..
Fordguy64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-12, 11:03 AM   #10
S-F
You Ain't Me
 
S-F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northampton MA
Posts: 662
Thanks: 6
Thanked 70 Times in 58 Posts
Default

So the joists are actually in the foundation? That's really weird. I know people do that to sister up old joists. It's easier to just cut through the rim joist and slide the new floor joist in than it is to try putting one (or one cut in half) over a large support beam. In your case it looks like you don't have a rim joist or a sil plate. I don't understand what's going on there to be honest. Your foam has it's work cut out for it. The only way to escape from the thermal bridging there is to outsulate. And why aren't you going to go the two part foam route? It's cheaper than getting a bunch of cans and it's certainly cheaper and much more effective than using great stuff. That stuff isn't really that great.

Also I recommend that you use either foil faced polyiso or XPS unless your foundation is bone dry all the time, year round, 365, for years and years and so on.

And that wiring! I'm not a strict proponent of following all the electrical or building codes if you don't need to but that's pretty bad. I'd be worried about fire.

Nice progress. Keep us posted.


Last edited by S-F; 01-19-12 at 11:06 AM..
S-F is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design