EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-06-15, 10:52 AM   #1
Ron342
Apprentice EcoRenovator

Default Yet another window unit heater but with solar and questions!

Hello Folks -
I have benefited so much from your posts in laying out a combined solar & ground loop supplied hot water heater but as I get ready to braze it together I realize I have more questions than answers - I did the attached drawing to guide me and the questions kept coming! I am old enough to know I ain't gonna guess right on many of them!
Please keep in mind that I have no (zero) experience in Hvac plumbing other than from you guys and a little in hvac electrical aspects but am a good welder/mechanic/electrician and garage grade machinist.
I have a 80 gal elec water heater, 7500 btu R22 window shaker, new 1/2 ton txv valve 0.016 bore with ext equalizer tanks Ebay), a vac pump and gauges, some reclaimed r22 which may or may not be good, a start on the geo bore, and have pretty much finished the condenser.
The drawing attached is probably better than the following description.
The condenser is 5' of straight 1.5" copper tube with a 1.5 - 1 -3/4 reducing tee at each end, mounted vertically beside the water heater - it has a 3/4" straight copper tube running thru the center of the 1.5 tube that carries hot water from the solar panel tank (when its hot) and enters and leaves the 1.5" tube straight thru the tees at the top and bottom.