EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Appliances & Gadgets
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-18-09, 06:08 PM   #1
jlinstrom
harried homeowner

Default Fireplace and outside air

I want to put a free-standing fireplace in my cabin and am curious about using (cold) outside air for combustion. I know using (warm) house air is dumb, but net searches haven't pulled up much discussion...
Anyone done this? Heard of this? Anyone? Bueller?

johnl

jlinstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-09, 02:07 PM   #2
Daox
Administrator

Thats a good question. I'm no expert on fireplaces, but I don't think you'll be able to use the fireplace as is. You would literally have to make an intake duct and hole for it. As long as it is placed lower in the fireplace itself, it should naturally pull air in as hot air exits from the top.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-09, 02:22 PM   #3
jlinstrom
harried homeowner

Default fireplace and outside air

yeah, I figured that.
But even if I did that - what about backfire protection, vent size, a cold air pump...?
I can't believe I'm the first bozo to ask this question and the firplace insets I've seen, those with double jackets/fans, all pull warm combustion air!

You can literally feel the draft of combustion air being pulled up the chimney in a fireplace. Old friend, former Marine gunny, comes into the house one fall, fire burning crisply, and announces: "fire for effect!" How true.

I'll continue my search and add to this thread as fact arise...
Old 08-20-09, 12:19 PM   #4
Daox
Administrator

I did some googling and found these links. They should help you figure things out.

Fresh-Air Intake Vents

Fireplace Design - How An Energy Efficient Fireplace Design Can Save You Big Money

This one is a bit less directly tied to your question, but seems like good info none the less.

How to Make Your Fireplace More Efficient