EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Other Improvements
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-05-10, 12:25 PM   #1
Ryland
Master EcoRenovator

Default Spray Foam Experinces and Tips.

I've been working on sealing up my house for the last two years, about 6 months ago we had an energy audit with a blower door test done and because of that we really realized how much further we had to go.
The sealing that I started out doing was just the basic feeling for cold spots and drafts, filling in gaps that I could see between my foundation and the last row of siding.
Our energy audit showed that our crawl spaces (sand stone foundation) were the worst, on a 30F degree day there were spots in our crawl space that were 37F degrees, there was some fiber glass "insulation" in there but it was acting more as an air filter, rodent nest and was increasing the area for moisture to condense (it was soggy!) so we got 3 bids and went with the one that was in the middle for price but offered 2" of spray foam, the others were 1" and 1.5", we also opted for a vapor barrier on the dirt floor with a humidistat controlled vent fan that pulls air from under the plastic via perforated drain tile (black plastic drainage pipe), this type of vent fan also works for removing radon, radon is not an issue for us but moisture build up around foundations is not good for any foundation.