EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-13, 06:09 PM   #31
Exeric
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
Posts: 274
Thanks: 19
Thanked 37 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Mastic didn't seem that messy to me. It's much thicker than paint so it doesn't drip. Overall much less messy than painting. You can't stop a duct air leak with insulation so the main thing is to always air seal ducts BEFORE insulating them. I'm not an HVAC guy either, though.

Exeric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Exeric For This Useful Post:
pinballlooking (11-25-13)
Old 11-25-13, 06:17 PM   #32
pinballlooking
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,908
Thanks: 170
Thanked 558 Times in 458 Posts
Default

There is a few places that I should go back over with mastic.

I should have added that a few weeks ago I sealed up the big leaks with mastic. But I really just covered the side that blows air. This time I went over both sides. I was able to let it dry for a few days before I need to use it.
pinballlooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-13, 09:28 AM   #33
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,514
Thanks: 1,154
Thanked 374 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Do you have any pictures of the install? Could you do a short write up on it?
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-13, 12:34 PM   #34
pinballlooking
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,908
Thanks: 170
Thanked 558 Times in 458 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daox View Post
Do you have any pictures of the install? Could you do a short write up on it?
I did not really take any pictures. I did not think people were that interested. But I could do a write up on it if that would help someone else out in the future. Once it warms up here I will get the energy readings from the new motor. I have a TED5000 energy monitor and I took the readings before I took the old motor out.
pinballlooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-13, 01:16 PM   #35
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,514
Thanks: 1,154
Thanked 374 Times in 305 Posts
Default

I think that would be cool. I am interested. If I ever have my motor going bad I'd definitely consider it.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-13, 04:11 PM   #36
pinballlooking
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,908
Thanks: 170
Thanked 558 Times in 458 Posts
Default

Old blower motor used on high 714 watts

New green motor uses 418 on high. It saves 296 watts on high.
the new green blower motor uses 82 watts on low. It saves 632 watts on low speed. This will really help in the summer to circulate cool air.

I used a TED 5000 to get these measurements and it is measuring the whole house so I waited until no heaters or other stuff was running check before after about 4 times and took the average. So no this is not exact it is decent.
My home automation is hooked up to the low fan setting and I am able to turn it on and off with my phone or a network device or with code.
pinballlooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-13, 08:37 PM   #37
Servicetech
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Servicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 267
Thanks: 108
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Watch leaving the blower on 24/7 in a humid climate, it could revaporate the condensate durign the offf cycle. How many hours of motor run time will it take to pay for the motor?
Servicetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-13, 09:19 PM   #38
pinballlooking
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,908
Thanks: 170
Thanked 558 Times in 458 Posts
Default

As you can see the low fan setting will help for payback. The high setting does save but it would take a very long time to get payback.
The payback is actually better than I thought it was going to be.
When you are using solar to cover all your power needs you have to look at how much solar would I have to add to cover this item.

Thanks for asking the question I am glad I did the math.


I won’t be leaving it on 24/7. It will be controlled by my home automation. The appliance that controls that knows the temp outside. It can get the temp inside and I can run the fan based on that info. It is totally programmable


Costs Calculator





Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HighFanSetting.JPG
Views:	448
Size:	38.3 KB
ID:	3741   Click image for larger version

Name:	BlowerMotorPayBackLowFan.JPG
Views:	457
Size:	37.3 KB
ID:	3742  

Last edited by Daox; 12-05-13 at 07:59 AM..
pinballlooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-13, 08:00 PM   #39
Servicetech
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Servicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 267
Thanks: 108
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Default

My standard 1/3 PSC motor only uses 345W on low speed, 480W on high speed. Payback time would be considerably longer... Motor is $250?

Is CFM the same with both blower motors?
Servicetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-13, 08:03 PM   #40
pinballlooking
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,908
Thanks: 170
Thanked 558 Times in 458 Posts
Default

I paid $226 shipped I replaced HP motor that did not have a low setting.
It would calibrate for the 1/3 HP so it would use less watts replacing a 1/3 HP.
They have some charts showing this.

You could probably buy it for close to $100 less than me at a whole sale price.

Here are some specs on SNTech Green Motor
http://www.davidonindustries.com/stu...20Brochure.pdf


Last edited by pinballlooking; 12-06-13 at 10:35 AM..
pinballlooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design