EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Other Improvements
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts

Old 10-30-15, 06:06 AM   #1
Itsnotme1988
Lurking Renovator

Default Ongoing moisture issues in a 1950 rental home, Central NC

I have been having ongoing humidity issues in the 1950 house I've been renting for two years now. It's especially bad as temperatures are beginning to drop. My thermostat regularly shows the moisture 85%+ and there is often condensation leading to mold/mildew on the large glass window in the living room as well as some on the vinyl windows throughout the house. It is a concrete house which I'm sure hurts some. I expect it to be a bit worse for at least a little while this year as I have added several aquariums which are being run open top but I may be forced to cover them to help alleviate this issue. Again, this problem existed well before they were setup so they are not the cause, they just make it worse.

Where should I start/what would you guys/gals recommend as my first steps? There is no outside ventilation (kitchen fan is only a recirculating hood through a carbon filter, and no fan or window in the bathroom.) I tried a dehumidifier when I first moved in but it caused my power bill to sky rocket. It was however an older model that was no where near large enough and put off a lot of heat. The home is heated by CNG.

I will also have to be concerned with power drawer as the wiring through the breaker box is not right. There are at least 4 rooms running through only one breaker (most of the living room and kitchen, the bathroom and both bedrooms....) Not quite sure how this passed code unless the town was not concerned as long as they were paid for their permit (which was obtained during the massive repairs before I moved in.)

Yeah...it's got problems here....haha

Thanks!

Itsnotme1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-15, 08:45 AM   #2
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator