EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Solar Heating
Advanced Search
 


Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-10, 09:48 AM   #51
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,525
Thanks: 1,162
Thanked 374 Times in 305 Posts
Default

I have no air retun in mind yet. Its not a bad idea, but I think my house is leaky enough that it'll just vent outside.

__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-10, 01:07 PM   #52
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,525
Thanks: 1,162
Thanked 374 Times in 305 Posts
Default

I just looked over my arduino code. It was mostly still there since I had started my DIY thermal differential controller from before. I made a few small tweaks and also added some data logging (how long the fan is has been on). As I'm thinking now, temperature logging would be nice to see as well. I'll have to add that, but other than that it is pretty much ready to go.

I also found some LM35DZ-ND temperature sensors that should work very nicely with this setup. I just need to figure out all the venting and wire it up.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Daox; 10-25-10 at 01:10 PM..
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-10, 04:03 PM   #53
benpope
Helper EcoRenovator
 
benpope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 95
Thanks: 16
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

If you are going to go to the trouble to build a box and snorkel, you may want to get a HEPA filter to keep out dust.
benpope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-10, 07:09 PM   #54
strider3700
Master EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver Island BC
Posts: 745
Thanks: 23
Thanked 37 Times in 30 Posts
Default

I'd definitely filter any air you're pulling out of your attic space into the house. Even if you're not up their stirring things up you'll be amazed how much dust those fans will pull out of there.
strider3700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-10, 08:13 PM   #55
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,525
Thanks: 1,162
Thanked 374 Times in 305 Posts
Default

I'll find some way to get a furnace filter fitted to it. It sounds like putting them in a box will probably be the easiest way to do this.

In the mean time, I picked up two 4" dryer vent draft blockers. These should do for preventing air movement when the fans are off.




__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-10, 06:29 AM   #56
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,525
Thanks: 1,162
Thanked 374 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Alright, here is a rough picture of what I was thinking of. I am very much open to suggestions. I'd really love to simplify it, but I'm not sure how without sacrificing functionality and ease of building. Also, the flapper vents would seal better if they were oriented vertically (90 degrees rotated from how they are in my picture), but the air can only flow upwards then (so gravity holds it closed).

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fanbox.jpg
Views:	2016
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	1006  
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-10, 06:15 AM   #57
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,525
Thanks: 1,162
Thanked 374 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Bumping since the forum is back up!
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-10, 05:31 PM   #58
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,525
Thanks: 1,162
Thanked 374 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Well, I'm still forging ahead. Today I made a frame for the chimney top. Pretty basic, just some 2x4s screwed and glued (to seal) together.





Once it was made, I brought it up to the attic and glued it down with construction adhesive.





I knew about this when I made the frame, but I figured I would just shift it over since it is wide enough, and that exactly what I did. There is ~3/8" gap between my water heater flue and the wood. I'll have to probably make another small frame to go around the other side so I can seal it off.

__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-10, 05:55 PM   #59
Patrick
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: East Coast of Florida, USA
Posts: 149
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

How hot does the flue get? You probably don't want wood touching it unless it is the double-wall type.
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-10, 08:29 AM   #60
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,525
Thanks: 1,162
Thanked 374 Times in 305 Posts
Default

I don't think the flue gets real warm that high up, but it is only single wall. This is the attic of a 2 story house and the water heater is in the basement, so its really 3 floors up. However, I will be using metal flashing to get close to the flue, and then using silicon to seal around it like you are supposed to do.

__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
attic, heat, reclamation

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design