EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Off Topic > The Billiards Room
Advanced Search
 


Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-16, 08:58 AM   #11
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,898
Thanks: 111
Thanked 248 Times in 228 Posts
Default

Being a Ham, I always wanted to own a really good Tektronix dual channel oscilloscope..

In 1998, NEC laid off the last of it's MA workers. Since I was the last engineer standing,
I got my pick of the remaining test gear.. One item was a newer model Tektronix o-scope ($30) w/cart..

This new scope was much better than the scopes I used on my new Job at MIT.
Pretty soon, I realized that owning a big-bucks scope had draw-backs. It was a bit too large, heavy and had way more functionality than I would ever need. I could not easily carry it around. What I really needed was a more portable scope. So, I down-sized to a cheaper smaller 100 MHz Tektronix, that I can easily take out outdoors and use just about anywhere..
If I drop it or smoke a channel input, I'm not going to be crying about messing up a scope that originally cost more than brand new Prius V.

__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-16, 05:13 AM   #12
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,424
Thanks: 427
Thanked 618 Times in 516 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default

I don't believe Fluke makes any models without a lifetime warranty. I remember asking a customer service agent this question in the mid-90's, because one of the techs I was working with tried to measure high voltage off a tv flyback with his. It was literally hit by lightning! The agent said if you never registered it, and the unit is old and expensive, sometimes they charge a small fee to register the unit and the repair or replacement is free. After that, if the same unit needs repair, it is free to repair, forever.

The unit I have been using since I left the electronic service industry is the 12B. After not needing the extra functionality of the greater units, I sold them. If I need to measure current, most of my maintenance buddies have the models with the built-in current clamp.
jeff5may is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-16, 10:33 AM   #13
pinballlooking
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,916
Thanks: 171
Thanked 559 Times in 458 Posts
Default

Fluke 101 Basic Digital is very small and only has a one year warranty.
Fluke makes much better meters but they can get pricey.
Mine was more than I wanted to pay but I do not regret it.

Extremely Rugged Fluke 101 Digital Multimeter

There my be other good choices out there. For a company that makes top end meters the bottom of the line may not be the best in its class. I really don't know.


Looking at the lower end Fluke meters I like the 115
Fluke 115
It is more money than you want to spend but it has excellent reviews.
Maybe Xmas is coming Santa might put it under the tree.

http://www.fluke.com/fluke/inen/digi....htm?PID=55993
__________________
Current project Aquaponics system , Passive Solar Greenhouse build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Solar Install 12.5 Kwh-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mini Split installs -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

EV Chevy Volt -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Daox; 01-13-17 at 01:13 PM..
pinballlooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-16, 04:19 PM   #14
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 303
Thanked 719 Times in 533 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daox View Post
I'm looking for a new 'niceish' digital multimeter.
I got one I really like, from Lowes...

It's a small brown auto-ranging one that pretty much fits in my pocket.

It has the fundamental stuff, but I really like that it has a 'hot wiring' sensor on the top, and the meter doesn't even need to be turned on for that to work.

For general wiring, and most household needs, it is just great.

I also have a drawer full of every-frickin'-thing-that-a-meter-could-ever-measure meters, and a beautiful Fluke, and I seldom use them.

The little Lowes one is my fav.

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AC_Hacker For This Useful Post:
Daox (12-06-16)
Old 12-05-16, 06:06 PM   #15
pinballlooking
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,916
Thanks: 171
Thanked 559 Times in 458 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC_Hacker View Post
I got one I really like, from Lowes...

It's a small brown auto-ranging one that pretty much fits in my pocket.

It has the fundamental stuff, but I really like that it has a 'hot wiring' sensor on the top, and the meter doesn't even need to be turned on for that to work.

For general wiring, and most household needs, it is just great.

I also have a drawer full of every-frickin'-thing-that-a-meter-could-ever-measure meters, and a beautiful Fluke, and I seldom use them.

The little Lowes one is my fav.

-AC
Can you share the model number you have?
__________________
Current project Aquaponics system , Passive Solar Greenhouse build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Solar Install 12.5 Kwh-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mini Split installs -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

EV Chevy Volt -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pinballlooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-16, 10:17 PM   #16
NiHaoMike
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
NiHaoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,152
Thanks: 14
Thanked 256 Times in 240 Posts
Default

My favorite is the Mooshimeter, a Bluetooth dual channel multimeter. I got it since it doesn't have a rotary switch to wear out or get dirty (that's a very common problem I have with multimeters - I use them a lot), plus it can operate as a standalone data logger and even works as a (very low frequency) oscilloscope.

Of most interest to us here is that it can measure power to a far greater precision than a Kill-a-Watt. The 30mW an idle phone charger uses is easily captured. They're working on (software) support for an external shunt, which would be great for checking power usage of devices that draw too much current for its internal shunt.
__________________
To my surprise, shortly after Naomi Wu gave me a bit of fame for making good use of solar power, Allie Moore got really jealous of her...

Last edited by Daox; 01-13-17 at 01:14 PM..
NiHaoMike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NiHaoMike For This Useful Post:
Daox (12-06-16)
Old 12-06-16, 07:47 AM   #17
randen
Uber EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Strathroy Ontario Canada
Posts: 656
Thanks: 9
Thanked 184 Times in 128 Posts
Default

As a young kid of 14 I had obtained a Multimeter ANOLOG from Radio Shack and used it for years. It suffered many battle wounds and bounced off the floor more than one could count.

Yes you can get by with a cheaper tool

I figured I would always be tinkering and needed some better equipment. I ponied up for a Fluke and really glad I did.

If you feel like myself and your going to tinker till your dead you really should get one. Its going to save you money on all the stuff your going to repair.

Ebay has some good prices on Flukes

You won't regret it

Randen
randen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to randen For This Useful Post:
Daox (12-06-16)
Old 12-10-16, 02:50 PM   #18
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 303
Thanked 719 Times in 533 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinballlooking View Post
Can you share the model number you have?
On the front it says: "Southwire" and also: "10020N"

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-16, 06:06 PM   #19
WyrTwister
Master EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 543
Thanks: 6
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinballlooking View Post
I used Fluke meters in the Navy for years and have had very good luck with them. I used a meters a lot in the Navy.

A few years ago I bought Fluke 87 V it has been a great meter and very tuff.
You might check out on of their cheaper models.
I use a Fluke amp / volt tester at work . Seems to be tough . But sounds like you do not need to measure amps . And out of your $ 50 budget .

How tough it needs to be depends on how and how often .

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-16, 08:26 PM   #20
philb
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 154
Thanks: 58
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I use the HF meters because they're free with coupon. Of the five I tested, they were accurate to 1/10th volt. I used my certified Fluke DVM to test them!

My first good meter was a Simpson 260. When it finally quit, I bought a Fluke. It has lasted for years without issues. I also tried Extech for throw around field use for 10 people. None of them lasted a year. Fluke 100 series got that job after that. Eight years later, none have broken. Oscilloscopes are just as rugged but seldom see field use where I worked.

Btw, I bought a NIB Fluke 110 at a pawn shop for $36. They had several. You might check there also.

philb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design