EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Appliances & Gadgets
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-20, 10:46 AM   #51
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default

It's been about a year, and it's getting damp in the basement again.
The Santa Fe isn't working this year. I found some new info about this ProSeal.
It's not for R410a units anymore. I looked for the reason and found out
the R410a pressure is too high and could explode the can!

So, I'm going to figure out how to pre-load a long hose with ProSeal
and then inject it into the system with some nice R410a behind it..

__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-20, 08:34 PM   #52
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,348
Thanks: 367
Thanked 591 Times in 494 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default

Uhmmm, who did dat? Obviously somebody injured themselves, so now nobody can have nice things...
jeff5may is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-20, 09:24 PM   #53
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default It lives!

I guess a little tin can with a bit of propane for propellant can't stand up to R410a pressures.
Anyways, I sucked the air out of a hose (with a cut-off valve), connected it to the can adapter, opened the cut-off to fill up the hose with ProSeal, and then moved the hose over to the Santa Fe and pushed in the ProSeal with R410a.
Once I turned on the R410a tank, I had just a few seconds before 23 oz was gone.

I ran it for 2 hours and it work okay. About like it did before.
I can't detect any R410a leakage! I hope that ProSeal holds for a while!

Left it on, and the basement air feels much nicer now.

Summer seems to be starting here. Last week, I got to wear shorts to work (babysitting). It's been pretty warm.
But, I just saw the forecast for Monday, and it's back to March again.

Cheers,
Rich
__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-20, 09:43 PM   #54
Xringer
Lex Parsimoniae
 
Xringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 4,860
Thanks: 105
Thanked 244 Times in 224 Posts
Default Still working during the Apocalypse..

Still working, keeping our food storage rations from being spoiled by the humidity. (Can't go to the store, might catch COVID19).

I have the Santa Fe plugged into a smart socket that's turned on 12 times a day, on the odd numbered hours. On each odd hour, it runs for 18 minutes (or less if it's dry). It keeps the RH in the basement around 50% on average.
When it's rainy, it comes up to about 51 to 52% average RH.
Check out today's plot, the Santa also warms up the basement a bit.
It's been damp weather a lot (& we have a swamp on the back edge of our lot),
& the bill is currently showing $10 per month for keeping it dry down there..

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RHtoday.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	157.4 KB
ID:	9005  
__________________
My hobby is installing & trying to repair mini-splits
EPA 608 Type 1 Technician Certification ~ 5 lbs or less..
Xringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design