EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Wind Power
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-14-12, 06:50 PM   #1
Phillip
Lurking Renovator

Default New to wind power, need advise

I am new to wind power, but have been tinkering with an ac inverter and battery bank for a few years now. I have one in my house 3000 watt with 5 batteries in my bank currently charging my system with an ac charger and running a few plugs on the main floor of my house. I also have almost the same setup in each of my company e-250 vans. Except the banks are being charged by a 200 amp altenater.
I am currently looking at a wind setup and want to pull a couple of the smaller circuts in pannel box Ie: some plugs and lamps and connect them to a wind powered system.
Namely a
Apollo 650W AC 12V Wind Turbine
+ SolarWind Hybrid RX Charge Controller
for Land or Marine Use
Basicly what I need to know
1. Is this an ok system (best bank for the buck)
2. When I pull the circuts from my pannel.
1a. Most ac inverters have plugs on them, according to code you cannot plug in a house circut to the controller, the system has 3 outputs and I know that ac inverters are to be hooked in to them then the load hooked in accordingly.
3. The only ac inverter I see around that can be hard wired through a pony pannel is the grid tie inverters. I do not plan on feeding the grid. Can I for example hook up the wind system as per instructions and code where applicable. Then feed the grid tie inverter from the controller then into a small pony pannel, then wire up the circuts from the house to the other side of the pannel. Of course there will be disconnects and other things in the circut....I guess what I am trying to do is mimmic the pannel in the house now on a much smaller scale and substitute the power utility company with the wind setup.

As I can see the above Apollo system has what I need and can be expanded.

Thanks from the Newbee