EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search
 


Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-14, 12:41 PM   #1
Wkmaylish
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Gree multi mini split install

I am about to finish an install of a Gree Multi+ Dual-Zone unit and have a question.
I am currently at the leak test and vacuum portion of the install. The instruction state
“Leak test each indoor unit, one unit at a time. Repeat the leak test sequence for each indoor unit.”
And
“Evacuate each indoor unit, one unit at a time. Repeat the evacuation sequence for each indoor unit.”
My condenser is capable of 4 indoor units but only has one set of service ports.

Are the instructions generic or is there a way to do each individually?

Wkmaylish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-14, 08:35 PM   #2
Mikesolar
Master EcoRenovator
 
Mikesolar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 958
Thanks: 40
Thanked 158 Times in 150 Posts
Default

Which model. They are different
Mikesolar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-14, 07:45 AM   #3
Wkmaylish
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Model

From the website:
Gree Multi+ Dual-Zone Ductless Mini-Split System 36,000 BTU Inverter Heat Pump (18k, 18k Indoor)
BRAND: Gree SKU: MULTI36HP205
NEW MODEL – Replaces Evo+ Multi – Bu
Wkmaylish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-14, 08:15 AM   #4
Mikesolar
Master EcoRenovator
 
Mikesolar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 958
Thanks: 40
Thanked 158 Times in 150 Posts
Default

Open up the outside electrical box. Do you have electrical inputs for more than one indoor unit? If not, it looks like you may have the wrong outdoor unit.
Mikesolar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-14, 03:27 PM   #5
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,424
Thanks: 427
Thanked 618 Times in 516 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default Pictures speak novels

No extra plumbing required ( LINESETS ALONE WILL WORK)

Single zone unit:

Four zone unit:


Cousin brand multi zone units:





Extra plumbing required:

ZONE SPLITTER SET: Fujitsu part no. UTP-SX248A $159


BRANCH BOX:
Daikin part no. BPMKS048A2U $799


Fujitsu part no. UTP-PU03A is cheaper at (only) $399






Impossible in reality, but not in photoshop:

Last edited by jeff5may; 11-16-14 at 03:30 PM..
jeff5may is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-14, 07:04 AM   #6
Wkmaylish
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry for the delay in responding.

I have a condenser similar to the one shown in the jeff5may's post. It can handle up to four units, 4 sets of high/low ports labeled A-D. It also has another set of high/low ports with the service port.

My question is, How can you pressure test and vacuum each indoor unit separately if you only have one service port?

I may be explaining this wrong so I hope to take some pictures tonight and post them for further clarification.
Wkmaylish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-14, 10:21 AM   #7
Wkmaylish
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Pics

Here is an image.

You will see that I have 4 connections and a set of service ports(High/low)




Sorry for the dark picture, I leave for work in the dark and get home in the dark.
Wkmaylish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-14, 10:21 AM   #8
Wkmaylish
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Actually here is the picture:

Wkmaylish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-14, 05:36 PM   #9
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,424
Thanks: 427
Thanked 618 Times in 516 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default

Xringer has graciously answered this question before:

http://ecorenovator.org/forum/5575-post4.html

Many of us have been down this road before. The thread I cited will give you a general idea of the job that lies ahead of you. If you don't have the specialty tools needed for this install, buy, beg or borrow them. They will make the job SO much easier and ensure that the system will be reliable for a much longer time than they are worth. This is one of those cases where the $30 flare nut wrench and the $100 micron gage are worth every penny.

Good luck and please post lots of pics!


Last edited by jeff5may; 11-19-14 at 05:51 PM..
jeff5may is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
gree, mini split, pressure test, vacuum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design