EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Lighting
Advanced Search
 


Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-13, 04:03 PM   #11
opiesche
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 99
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hamsterpower View Post
Are the wire connections contained? It looks like the wires leave through the top and are exposed to the attic. All wire connections need to be in a box.
Even 12V connections? If that's the case, I'll have to modify the top so it can hold the wire connection as well. Hmm... I wonder if I can make a wire connector integrated into the top...

opiesche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-13, 04:05 PM   #12
opiesche
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 99
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC_Hacker View Post
This is really great!
So far, I've just seen people make hollow spheres and pretty plastic spirals and tiny tea pots with removable lids.

I'm not being ironic when I say that making utilitarian items is a big step forward.
-AC
I was skeptical when I first got interested in 3D printing, but then found things like this:

newest - Thingiverse

Some of these designs are ingenious. There's a surprising amount of useful stuff out there
opiesche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-13, 04:23 PM   #13
opiesche
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 99
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Default

So, I've read through everything I could find on low voltage electrical code. It seems my installation is a class 2 circuit. The power supply is 100W with two 50W outputs, which conforms with class 2, and the wire splices are in a location where they're not subject to inadvertent physical stress.
I can't find any requirements for wire splices for class 2 needing to be inside a box, but I'm certainly not a NEC specialist. Anyone have any more insight?

Still, I like the idea of having the connector integrated in the fixture top. I may get a bunch of Molex or lustre connectors and design the top part so that the connector can be integrated into the fixture top itself

Last edited by opiesche; 12-23-13 at 04:42 PM..
opiesche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-13, 04:42 PM   #14
SimpleManLance
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: South-East MI
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default

That looks awesome. where did you get the 3d printer from?
__________________
Jack of all trades, master of none.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SimpleManLance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-13, 04:47 PM   #15
opiesche
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 99
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Default

It's a Printrbot Jr. kit I bought from MCM electronics. I think I got the last one of the version 1 PbJrs, they went out of stock as soon as I ordered mine :P
Printrbot.com sells a few different models, unfortunately all a bit more expensive than the Jr. V1.
opiesche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-13, 02:16 PM   #16
hamsterpower
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by opiesche View Post
So, I've read through everything I could find on low voltage electrical code. It seems my installation is a class 2 circuit. The power supply is 100W with two 50W outputs, which conforms with class 2, and the wire splices are in a location where they're not subject to inadvertent physical stress.
I can't find any requirements for wire splices for class 2 needing to be inside a box, but I'm certainly not a NEC specialist. Anyone have any more insight?

Still, I like the idea of having the connector integrated in the fixture top. I may get a bunch of Molex or lustre connectors and design the top part so that the connector can be integrated into the fixture top itself
I did not realize it was low voltage. That may be alright depending your local code. I like your idea about molex plugs. Sounds like a good compromize for safety.
hamsterpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-13, 08:49 PM   #17
opiesche
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 99
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Default

So, I did some more research into what the code says about recessed fixtures. It seems that, regardless of the type of light used, if you want to put insulation on them, you have to get an IC rated canister on the top side. What makes an enclosure IC rated? Certification by an approved laboratory. Makes me wonder if I can send in one of my homemade fixtures to get them tested and certified, ha!

I just measured with an IR thermometer, and after 48 hours on with insulation on top, the temperature is on the order of 115F directly on the top of the fixture.
However, there don't seem to be any public specs about maximum temperature that a fixture can have to be OK for direct contact. It's really a bummer, because it means that, to be code compliant, I have to enclose the tops of these fixtures. Luckily, what seems to be a compliant way to enclose them is to build a box out of fire rated drywall, taped together with fire tape, and put it over the top. Yes, seriously. Taping a drywall box together and putting it over the top is compliant. Having a fixture that doesn't exceed 120F to begin with is not. I understand the needs for standardization in building codes, but that still left me with an incredulous look on my face.

So, just to be safe, I'll buy a sheet of 1hr fire rated drywall and build a 5" box around each of the fixtures. Does anyone have any more insight into fire codes, is there maybe something I've missed?

opiesche is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design