EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Appliances & Gadgets
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-13, 10:34 AM   #1
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 369 Times in 300 Posts
Default Cool product: Save A Watt TV standby killer (from kill a watt makers)

I had never heard of this, but it sounds like a good idea to me so I figured I'd post it up for you guys. I personally use my TV so little that the power strip stays unplugged for weeks at a time, but for those who use it more this could be a good energy saver. Its even pretty cheap too, only $18 on Amazon.

P3 - Save A Watt TV Standby Killer

Quote:
Stop energy hogging TVs which continue to draw electricity even in “off mode”. Now you can really turn off your TV with the TV Standby Killer.

Use it in conjunction with your existing remote to make sure that when the power button is pushed to off it is really off and not in power sucking standby mode. Sound systems and video game consoles on standby also viciously chomp on your wallet, so let the TVSBK fight FOR you. Installation and usage are simple. Now you can rest easy knowing that you’re saving money and creating a safer living environment since a device left in standby mode is more likely to contribute to shock or fire hazard.

Take charge of your entertainment system. Say goodbye to standby and hello to savings.
• Turn standby mode into REAL off mode
• Eliminates standby power completely
• Easy to install
• Works with your existing remote
Specifications
Model:P4150
Input Voltage: 120 VAC 60 Hz
Max power load: 1200W (10 Amps)
Auto Switch Off: < 0.15 Amp
Delay Switch Off: < 60 seconds
Weight: 3.5 oz.





Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	main_p4150.jpg
Views:	1033
Size:	109.9 KB
ID:	3463   Click image for larger version

Name:	inset_p4150.jpg
Views:	838
Size:	10.9 KB
ID:	3464  
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Daox; 10-11-13 at 01:35 PM..
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Daox For This Useful Post:
Exeric (10-11-13), Piwoslaw (10-14-13), Ryland (10-13-13)
Old 10-11-13, 01:00 PM   #2
Exeric
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
Posts: 274
Thanks: 19
Thanked 37 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Great idea!
Exeric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-13, 09:26 PM   #3
RobbMeeX
Eco OWNER!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: ATL
Posts: 99
Thanks: 25
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Have to break out the calculator to check ROI.
__________________
In it for the money (savings)
RobbMeeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-13, 10:39 PM   #4
iamgeo
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lakehills, Tx
Posts: 168
Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbMeeX View Post
Have to break out the calculator to check ROI.
That's what I'd like to know.
I find it far less expensive to actually turn off the power strip.
iamgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to iamgeo For This Useful Post:
Exalta-STA (10-12-13)
Old 10-13-13, 11:44 AM   #5
Ryland
Master EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Western Wisconsin.
Posts: 913
Thanks: 127
Thanked 82 Times in 71 Posts
Default

My parents TV, DVD player, VCR and digital converter box all together draw around 15 watts, so the ROI would be about one year, I have my stereo has a real switch in it that turns it off along with the DVD/CD player and my micro projector is on switch.
I wonder if you can turn the device on still without the remote and if you turn the TV off without the remote if it cuts the rest of the power.
Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-13, 08:05 AM   #6
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 369 Times in 300 Posts
Default

I just read through the manual and it looks like you can only turn it on with an IR remote. Turning it off seems to not be remote sensitive.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-13, 08:30 AM   #7
stevehull
Steve Hull
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: hilly, tree covered Arcadia, OK USA
Posts: 829
Thanks: 241
Thanked 165 Times in 123 Posts
Default

OK, but what do I do with the satellite box? My Directv box, when turned completely off, requires a several minute turn on as it reacquires channels etc. Wife of ~ 35 years grumbles.

Maybe I need a new box as I am due for an upgrade (mine is 4-5 years old).

Anyone have a newer Directv receiver that has a short turn on time?

Steve
__________________
consulting on geothermal heating/cooling & rational energy use since 1990
stevehull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-13, 08:36 AM   #8
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 369 Times in 300 Posts
Default

You can run that on a separate outlet, or turn your TV on a few minutes ahead of time.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-13, 08:44 AM   #9
iamgeo
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lakehills, Tx
Posts: 168
Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevehull View Post
OK, but what do I do with the satellite box? My Directv box, when turned completely off, requires a several minute turn on as it reacquires channels etc. Wife of ~ 35 years grumbles.

Maybe I need a new box as I am due for an upgrade (mine is 4-5 years old).

Anyone have a newer Directv receiver that has a short turn on time?

Steve
I go through this everyday. Not a big deal at all. Just sit and wait. It teaches people to have patience.
iamgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-13, 01:51 PM   #10
Ryland
Master EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Western Wisconsin.
Posts: 913
Thanks: 127
Thanked 82 Times in 71 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevehull View Post
OK, but what do I do with the satellite box? My Directv box, when turned completely off, requires a several minute turn on as it reacquires channels etc. Wife of ~ 35 years grumbles.
Put it on a timer so it's off when you are gone and asleep.

Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design