EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Appliances & Gadgets
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-13, 05:52 AM   #1
Mikesolar
Master EcoRenovator
 
Mikesolar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 958
Thanks: 40
Thanked 158 Times in 150 Posts
Default PID and Arduino

Some of you have been using arduino for projects and I just picked up a Mega, BUT, I am a luddite when it comes to programming. When I went through DeVry electronics in the early 80s, I was interested in audio not computers so programming is hard for me to get my head around.

Therefore, the question, has anyone done any PID loops with the arduino? I want to make my heat pump controller or at worst control some pumps. Also, it seems they recommend 20ma max per pin for loads. Try getting a relay with that type of coil draw...uggg

Mikesolar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-13, 10:16 AM   #2
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,482
Thanks: 1,117
Thanked 370 Times in 301 Posts
Default

I don't have any experience with PID loops. The concept doesn't seem too hard, but programming one sounds like it might be fairly complex.

I can help with your relay problem though:

For low current DC, you can use reed relays. They can typically handle switching loads of around 100mA.

The next step up is using a transistor of some sort. To get more gain you might need to use two transistors, or a transistor that switches a relay.

The easiest thing for switching AC power is a solid state relay. The arduino can switch them directly. I'm using one of these in my attic heat project to power the fans.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Daox; 01-16-13 at 10:18 AM..
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Daox For This Useful Post:
Mikesolar (01-17-13)
Old 01-16-13, 06:14 PM   #3
Mikesolar
Master EcoRenovator
 
Mikesolar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 958
Thanks: 40
Thanked 158 Times in 150 Posts
Default

I usually use a DDC control that has 12 thermister inputs, 6 relay outputs a couple of 0-10vdc outputs as well. The company was bought and the price tripled. I was looking to see if the duino would support something like the old control and I thought to make a board with the relay options on it that could plug in like a shield does on the duino. It might be a challenge.....
Mikesolar is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mikesolar For This Useful Post:
buffalobillpatrick (05-27-14)
Old 01-16-13, 10:19 PM   #4
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikesolar View Post
...has anyone done any PID loops with the arduino?...
Check THIS out. (maybe 80,000 links)

Best,

-AC
__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AC_Hacker For This Useful Post:
buffalobillpatrick (05-27-14), Mikesolar (01-17-13)
Old 01-17-13, 05:13 AM   #5
Mikesolar
Master EcoRenovator
 
Mikesolar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 958
Thanks: 40
Thanked 158 Times in 150 Posts
Default

yes, Thanks, I am just getting into the Arduino world and i found it last night. Those crazy code guys.......
Mikesolar is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mikesolar For This Useful Post:
buffalobillpatrick (05-27-14)
Old 01-17-13, 12:28 PM   #6
AC_Hacker
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
AC_Hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 303
Thanked 712 Times in 532 Posts
Default code guys

well if you're just getting into this, Arduino is a great way to go.

It has two ways of programming, a simple but somewhat limited way,
and a much more complex and capable way.

Also know that there are pre-written and pre-tested code libraries that you can use.

Also, it is common practice to post your project on the web, just like Daox did, with the code available to other people.

So, there are people all over the planet working with this stuff, and the code that is available is growing every day.

And, taking the PID example, PID can be used in very many ways. And with 80,000 projects (many of them will be bad Google hits), there is a very high likelihood that someone else tackled a project just like you want to do, and you don't have to re-invent the wheel.

-AC

__________________
I'm not an HVAC technician. In fact, I'm barely even a hacker...

Last edited by AC_Hacker; 01-27-13 at 12:41 AM..
AC_Hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AC_Hacker For This Useful Post:
buffalobillpatrick (05-27-14)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design