EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-11-13, 09:13 PM   #1
marx290
Vapor Compression Goon

Send a message via Yahoo to marx290
Default Question About Filtering BBQ Propane

I'm a refrigeration hobbyist of sorts and I like using BBQ grade propane for all of my projects so far. I pass the propane through a filter when charging my systems (small stuff like dehumidifiers), and I also install an in line filter drier in the system to try to catch what water might be in there. I've noticed the stink gets filtered out too, or absorbed by the compressor oil and read in other posts that others have noticed this too.

I'm curious if anyone has a procedure for effective filtering, and maybe separating or purifying the gases in common BBQ grade propane for use in vapor compression systems?

I've been reading the thread on R-290, so maybe a link to the appropriate post?

Thanks

marx290 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-13, 05:34 PM   #2
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator

Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may

For hobby or DIY (inexpensive) use, you have a few choices:
1. Blow torch bottles of propane
2. Cylinder exchange propane (BBQ grill tanks)
3. MAP/PRO bottles of propylene

Using option 1 or 2, you get HD-5 grade fuel propane. By the standard, it is at least 90% propane and up to 5% propylene. There is no higher standard in the USA for fuel-grade propane, so 99% propane and 1% propylene is still HD-5 grade. In reality, the gas in the bottles is nearly all propane and propylene, with a few ppm each of trace gases such as: butane, isobutane, cyclopropane methane, ethane, etc which varies by location. The propane industry works hard to keep nasty stuff out of their product. This includes water, air, acid, and generally anything not flammable and condensible.