EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-22, 07:18 PM   #1
ecomodmonster
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: England (stoke)
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default humidity problem with heat pump? why is sprayer motor on?

Hi

noticed lots of condensation on windows today and humidity was at 80%.
so took a look at the portable heat pump and noticed that the little fan that sprays the condensate over the condenser was running.

surely in heat pump mode it is wastefull to re- evaporate the condensate?

how do i stop this. i don't want a humid house.

ecomodmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-22, 07:57 PM   #2
NiHaoMike
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
NiHaoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,142
Thanks: 14
Thanked 252 Times in 237 Posts
Default

Perhaps the humidity sensor is bad?
__________________
To my surprise, shortly after Naomi Wu gave me a bit of fame for making good use of solar power, Allie Moore got really jealous of her...
NiHaoMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-22, 01:23 AM   #3
u3b3rg33k
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rustbelt, USA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 5
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

It's gotta go somewhere. does it have a drain, or does it have to evaporate it or turn itself off?
u3b3rg33k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-22, 09:18 AM   #4
ecomodmonster
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: England (stoke)
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

its a portable heat pump so im not sure if it has a humidity sensor?

i have attached a drain hose and it is draining some water but some evaporates and makes the house humid.
ecomodmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-22, 08:39 PM   #5
u3b3rg33k
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rustbelt, USA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 5
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

have you checked the level of the unit to make sure it's not sloped away from the drain, or that the drain is clogged?
u3b3rg33k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-22, 09:18 AM   #6
dremd
Need More Eco
 
dremd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Scott, La
Posts: 170
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Send a message via AIM to dremd
Default

So many questions.
First off, you guys have portable heat pump’s across the pond? WoW.
Second, does it have a condensation drain / pump line? If so I’d bet either a sensor, pump, or drain issue.

dremd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design