EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-19, 03:31 AM   #1
mejunkhound
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PNW
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 47 Times in 31 Posts
Default R290 into 410A system

Lightning zapped 410A inverter split system at son's house, easiest fix was to buy a whole new unit as can later repair zapped unit and use for shop that now is just wood heat.
.

Have used bbq propane for R22, how will that work for replacing 410A? Pressures will be a lot lower, maybe need to replace or 'finagle' txv?

mejunkhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-19, 12:53 PM   #2
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,273
Thanks: 338
Thanked 575 Times in 481 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default

Not the same at all. High molecular weight, high pressure. R410a is kind of a "high pressure extension" of R134a. Where R134a is good for Sub-Zero evaporator temperature and/or super high condensing temperature, R410a is best for HVAC system temperatures. The only advantage is that the system is physically smaller than the older refrigerant filled systems. It was pretty much invented to be different and not work well with any other gas.
jeff5may is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-19, 12:11 PM   #3
NeilTheCop
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roswell NM
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

One of the biggest problems with using a different gas is that of the lubricating oil compatibility.
If the oil is insoluble in the gas expect a very short life for the compressor
NeilTheCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-19, 01:05 PM   #4
RB855
Helper EcoRenovator
 
RB855's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jacksonville, fl
Posts: 47
Thanks: 3
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

While R290 operates in the same neighborhood as R22, it doesn't even come close to r410s requirements. 410 runs at nearly twice the pressure with a different mass flow rate. If you installed r290, the btu output would drop 1/3 to 1/2 of rating, and since it's an inverter system, it would likely shut down on safety as low charge or erroneous SH readings. Sorry, this one's a no go.

Good luck with the fix though!
RB855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-19, 06:12 PM   #5
WyrTwister
Master EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 516
Thanks: 6
Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
Default

Why do you not wish to use r410a ?

Wyr
God bless
WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-19, 12:28 AM   #6
MN Renovator
Less usage=Cheaper bills
 
MN Renovator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 897
Thanks: 41
Thanked 105 Times in 80 Posts
Default

OP, If you are looking to use R290 because you think you can't buy the R410A, that's not true. You can buy it almost as easily as buying a can of R134A for a car, just from a different place than your auto parts store.

MN Renovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design