EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Solar Power
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-19, 08:10 AM   #71
buteman
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Barrow upon Humber
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What about using a high power H Bridge wired to a transformer rather than a motor. If the bridge was driven to switch at say 60 Hz could that then be set up to produce a lower voltage output, rectified and fed to a charge controller?
It wouldn't need to do anything other than connect the output from the panels to the H bridge system instead of the inverter.

buteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-19, 11:42 PM   #72
NiHaoMike
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
NiHaoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,078
Thanks: 14
Thanked 237 Times in 225 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buteman View Post
Thanks for the quick reply Xringer.
Not really studied it. It was installed before we bought the house. It's around 4 Kilo watt and appears to have 16 panels arranged as 2 banks of 8 with 192 volt per chain.
That voltage is right in the range to run a switching power supply from. Just add a connector to allow easy connection if needed.

Most likely the easiest/cheapest way to build a power tap device would be to hack some ATX power supplies. Mod them to output 14.4V for charging lead acid batteries (or 16.4V for 4S lithium, or even 12.3V for 3S lithium), have a current limit to prevent exceeding the rating of the PSU, and add an input voltage control loop to prevent them from trying to pull the input voltage below the MPP rating of the panels.
__________________
To my surprise, shortly after Naomi Wu gave me a bit of fame for making good use of solar power, Allie Moore got really jealous of her...
NiHaoMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-19, 04:59 PM   #73
buteman
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Barrow upon Humber
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah yes. never thought of that! I have a few computer psu's knocking about

buteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design