EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-18, 11:50 AM   #1
dcveem3
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Quick question on Geothermal..perhaps.

Got a long-winded thread in Solar explaining my situation. If you have 10 minutes..

But, for now, if anyone wants to point me in the right direction concerning:

I have 3 year old 5 ton and 3 ton HVAC systems, propane over heat pump. I am considering going Geothermal with both systems. Regardless of the decision of horizontal loops or well loops, is there ANY parts of my new systems I can use? Is it possible to remove the A coils OVER my propane systems and place the evaps of the Geothermal units on it? So, my secondary heat would be propane and not heat strips? Maybe better said, I need a Geothermal system LESS the air handler?

No laughing....I'm just learning about Geothermal.

Thanks for your time.
Don

dcveem3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-18, 07:04 PM   #2
Fordguy64
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cincinnati ohio
Posts: 321
Thanks: 29
Thanked 26 Times in 24 Posts
Default

So you can use ALL ove it except the condenser (outdoor coil) basically a geothermal system is excactly the same as a normal heat pump except for the condenser. Normal heat pump has a large refrigerant to air coil. The geothermal has a refrigerant to water coil istead. Something like this https://www.doucetteindustries.com/P.../Coaxial-Coils

I just did a quick search.

Also if you read this thread it will help a lot
http://ecorenovator.org/forum/geothe...manifesto.html
Fordguy64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-18, 07:45 PM   #3
dcveem3
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks!! Yeah, found one too...Bard Trio 5 ton. Can use the compressor to the side. Just like you said.

I also started to read the thread you listed! Great material but it will take me a few days to get through it.

Thanks!
Don

dcveem3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design