EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Solar Power
Advanced Search
 


Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-18, 05:00 PM   #1
jjackstone
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sacramento,Ca
Posts: 84
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
Default Bench testing Enphase microinverters

Checked the search engine and didn't see a thread for this. Has anyone here figured out a simple way to bench test microinverters? I'm sure a battery or power supply could be connected as a DC input, but from what I understand, there must be a line signal too or they won't work at all. Any ideas on how to simulate an ac signal with enough amplitude to activate the inverter? I would guess it also checks for line frequency. Also as far as I know all the Enphase inverters are 240 volts AC output so that might have to be taken into account.
JJ

jjackstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-18, 08:58 PM   #2
where2
DIY Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 397
Thanks: 68
Thanked 83 Times in 73 Posts
Default

For the grid side, Set yourself up a 240V outlet. They don't seem to care if its an officially inspected 240V circuit, or just a temporary attachment point for testing purposes. An L14-20R outlet attached to the grid with an L14-20P on the end of a piece of trunk cable will do the trick. Just terminate the loose end of trunk cable with an appropriate insulating cover on the four wires. (it doesn't have to be a branch terminator, four wire nuts will work nicely, for testing purposes)

At that point, push 16-30V DC in the input leads on the inverter (minding the polarity designations) and see what happens after your grid connection to the inverter has been stable for 300 seconds or more. With input power (i.e. a solar panel), you should be able to see a slight up tick on current leaving the L14-20R, if the inverter is working properly.

You are correct, they look for voltage in specified range + frequency in range for >300 seconds before they will presume the grid is stable enough to add power to.

where2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design