EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Tools
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-13, 02:12 PM   #1
Jonny
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Motor problem

Hello,

I bought this motor https://www.mrosupply.com/product/26...eneral_Purpose, but I got it off e-bay instead and it's not starting up. Any ideas of what to look for in regards to take it into repair, I don't think the e-bay seller will provide me any kind of warranty

Thanks in advance,
Jon

Jonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-13, 03:25 PM   #2
Ryland
Master EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Western Wisconsin.
Posts: 913
Thanks: 127
Thanked 82 Times in 71 Posts
Default

The motor you linked to is a 3 phase motor, you have 3 phase power? I ask because it's not common unless you are a farm, factory or commercial building.
Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-13, 10:29 AM   #3
randen
Uber EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Strathroy Ontario Canada
Posts: 654
Thanks: 9
Thanked 182 Times in 127 Posts
Default

Jonny

I'm not sure what you had in mind for that 3 phase motor but you can purchase a varible frequency drive for that motor rather inexpensively and have infinite control for that motor, speed control, soft start, braking. I happen to see one 240-120 volt the bid was $18.00

Randen
randen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-13, 01:05 PM   #4
elhigh
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Might ought to return it

If you don't have 3ph power, it's another $200+ (looking at converters on eBay right now) to get a single- to three-phase converter so you can run that motor. Yes, the VFD brings some awesome capabilities but the VFD costs more than you paid for the motor itself. If you don't need those fancy features a plain converter will run you about fifty bucks.

I'm one of the few people I know who actually has three-phase and I don't have a farm or assembly line in my garage. I have a house built by TVA when they wanted to build a model all-electric town, so I've got enough amperage to launch a Space Shuttle. And I don't have a single three-phase motor in my workshop.

elhigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design