EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Solar Power
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-11, 07:05 PM   #1
Slavic381
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Florida Peninsula
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Load while connected to panel&controller

Newb question - just want to make sure I don't mess up.

Is it normal to run a load while the controller & panel are attached? I know nothing powerfull (like an inverter) should be connected to "load" terminals on the controller itself, but directly to the battery.

Can I run a webcam (6W max 5V), modem (5V 1A) & router (5V 0.6 to 1A) connected to the controller's 5V connection and bilge pumps & LED anchor light off the battery terminals and leave that connected like that? Also main power connection with a 12V DC fan & inverter connected to the battery terminals, but used on demand - when on board only.

Can I connect interior LED lights or navigation lights (if when upgraded to LED) to the controller's 12V connection? Do the controllers adjust the voltage to 12V (from 13.5 when alternator running or 10.5 when battery close to discharge) in order to prolong the life of the LED lighting? (The anchor light has that circuitry integrated)

Thanks!

PS I was looking to get this 10W combo for $50 (the router, webcam & modem would be on idle 90% of the time so much lower draw than the max in specs): amazon.com/Instapark®-Mono-crystalline-Solar-Charge-Controller/dp/B0038026Y2 (sorry I'm not alowed links Yet - cut&paste)

Slavic381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-11, 12:26 AM   #2
kbhale
Helper EcoRenovator
 
kbhale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Evansville IN
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Good learning link. DIY Solar Panel help - tutorials, calculators and design tools for solar power

Is it normal to run a load while the controller & panel are attached? I know nothing powerfull (like an inverter) should be connected to "load" terminals on the controller itself, but directly to the battery.

You can use energy as it's being made.

Battery acts as a buffer. it pulls the voltage to that of the battery bank 12, 24, 48 volt. The energy producer must be able to supply the needed voltage to charge.
My 12 volt system may receive / need up to 14.1 volts to charge fully / properly.


Last edited by kbhale; 09-21-11 at 12:48 AM..
kbhale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design