EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Conservation
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-08, 04:16 PM   #1
SVOboy
Administrator
 
SVOboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 291
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Individual Outlet Switches

Thought these suckers looked pretty interesting: Harriet Carter Household Helpers Computer & Electronics Outlet Switch

I'd rather use a power strip, but for some uses they makes sense to me. Anyone tried them?

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-08, 04:54 PM   #2
cmittle
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I prefer power strips as well, and where possible Smart Strips.
cmittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-08, 09:53 AM   #3
Tony Raine
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that is a pretty cool idea, but not for that price. i can get a 3 outlet power strip for a dollar at a local dollar store.
Tony Raine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-08, 12:13 PM   #4
insaneintenti0n
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 183
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I just use GFCIs as on/off switches in my kitchen
Electrical > Ground Fault Protection > GFCI Receptacles > RECEPTACLE,GFCI,15 A,Commercial,Gray : Grainger Industrial Supply
insaneintenti0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-08, 01:43 PM   #5
knowbodies
Home Improvement Goon
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Moose Jaw, SK, CA
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmittle View Post
I prefer power strips as well, and where possible Smart Strips.
I just bought and tried out an APC smart strip but it didn't work out for me.The lousy power supply in my computer uses too much power when the computer is off or in hibernate (10W). According to my Kill-a-watt, I actually use more power than when my computer is off but connected to a regular power bar. I'm taking it back to Staples and I will watch for the Energystar label next time.
knowbodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-08, 03:21 PM   #6
cmittle
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I didn't realize it initially but for the first week mine did not deactivate the other things plugged in when my computer was turned off either. Eventually I did realize this and adjusted the sensitivity knob so that the other devices did turn off when I shutdown my computer. Did yours have a sensitivity knob?
cmittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-08, 04:09 PM   #7
knowbodies
Home Improvement Goon
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Moose Jaw, SK, CA
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Nope, no sensitivity knob. It's going back to the store.
knowbodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-08, 02:36 PM   #8
GenKreton
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to GenKreton
Default

This seems like a cool idea but I already arrange my power strips so I just flip the switch. However, I fell in love with the power squids and those can definitely be worth the money. I, as many people do, have a lot of strange sized adapters and the manufacturers haven't figured out how to make them so it's cord, AC-DC converter, then cord except in very few cases, so the power squids design is amazing.
GenKreton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-08, 09:07 PM   #9
knowbodies
Home Improvement Goon
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Moose Jaw, SK, CA
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I was speaking to a co-worker the other day who is in the planning stages of an off grid home. One of the features he is planning is a switched green circuit with the master switch by the front door. The outlets for the green circuit will be distributed throughout his home. That way he can easily turn off all his phantom loads with a simple flick of a switch when he leaves and turn them back on when he gets home just as easily.
knowbodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-08, 01:05 AM   #10
Tony Raine
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I went to home depot today and saw these single outlet switches for less than that online price. just thought i'd throw that out there if anyone is considering getting some....

Tony Raine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design