EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Introductions
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-30-13, 01:36 PM   #1
jason
Lurking Renovator

Default Hello from Edmonton

Well, I have been building a house for a couple of years now and have been learning more as I go. While doing some more research, I found this forum. Along the way I figured out that I wanted to build a house that used less energy to run and then decided to try to approach Net Zero if I could. Which has slowed down the progress, but will improve the final product. From sealing to insulation to lighting and heating, I have had to learn it all, and the more I learnt, the more I wanted to learn, which is one of the causes for how long it has taken to build the house. Still putting building, but hoping to be in in the fall. If only I can finish the siding. Anyone got a couple weeks free they would like to lend.

Jason

jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-13, 01:45 PM   #2
Daox
Administrator

Welcome to the site Jason.

Would you care to share a little about the house, and/or the plans?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-13, 03:30 PM   #3
jason
Lurking Renovator

Well, I do not really like talking about the house, but you twisted my arm.

It has

- Insulated Concrete forms construction to the trusses
- Two lb spray foam in attic
- Triple pane windows throughout as well as a couple solar tubes
- HRV system with whole house HEPA filtration
- Waste water heat recovery system
- High efficiency wood burning fireplace with ducting to other parts of the house
- Reduced thermal bridging, air tight construction.
- .66 pre drywall Blower door test but found a couple conduits I forgot to seal since.