EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-18, 01:52 PM   #1
dark84
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Serbia
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Home made air source heat pump

Hi for everyone!
I am from Europe. From Serbia.
I'm working on project to heat the house with two 18000btu split ac outdoor unit.
I don't use the indoors. I have a copper tube heat exchanger. The diameter of tube is 8mm and a lenght is 28m. I have two of these for each outdoor unit in a tank of 125 litres.
Metering devices are original cap tubes in outside units.
With my friend we doing this project. He has tools and practice for brazing, and vacuuming, filling refrigerant. We use the original refrigerant for units (R22).
The heating is working. I will add some pictures here.
I have only one service valve on the outside unit. Now i measure here the pressure of liquid line (high side).
I have temperature meters on middle of outside heat exchanger(saturation temp), on suction line of the compressor, on the copper tube before goes in tank (condenser in) and after the tank (condenser out).
In the outside units i have 4 way valves. Now i heating with underfloor heating and 3 fan coil unit. I want to use the system for cooling at summer (with fan coils).

















Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-5cb062f634881da0066618b8a0c33485-V.jpg
Views:	1051
Size:	245.0 KB
ID:	8397   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-bdaae6d07846778198e06b36b81817ed-V.jpg
Views:	1056
Size:	244.1 KB
ID:	8398   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-db11de111b185bfd511d7171fc36f0ae-V.jpg
Views:	1044
Size:	470.4 KB
ID:	8399   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-c6ce691728240c4f41140354400ba086-V.jpg
Views:	1039
Size:	248.8 KB
ID:	8400   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-70ebd57050a1ff18f4eff59b8ac64c57-V.jpg
Views:	1046
Size:	507.6 KB
ID:	8401  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180321_171702.jpg
Views:	1043
Size:	489.4 KB
ID:	8402   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180321_171719.jpg
Views:	1062
Size:	489.6 KB
ID:	8403   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-9b11f374d2ced498dedea4f297a4ba71-V.jpg
Views:	1020
Size:	488.8 KB
ID:	8404  

Last edited by Daox; 12-10-18 at 01:11 PM..
dark84 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dark84 For This Useful Post:
jeff5may (01-14-20)
Old 11-03-18, 02:07 PM   #2
dark84
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Serbia
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have few questions.
I want to know superheat, but i have only temperature meters.
Now ambient temperature is 14C. When the units are running i measure these temperatures:
Unit1 saturation: 10C
Unit1 suction: 7C
Unit1 cond.in: 53C
Unit1 cond.out: 32C
Unit2 saturation: 13C
Unit2 suction: 9C
Unit2 cond.in: 53C
Unit2 cond.out: 29C
Water from tank: 40C
Water to tank: 30C
With these temperatures i have negative superheat.
We charged system with refrigerant how many on plate.
I measure current of compressors. On the plate i have for heating 8,5A and 2600W (this means about 11A). I measure 7,5A and 9A.
I have pressures on high side 19 bar and 20 bar.
I use DS1820B sensors with arduino for measuring.
I don't know that how accuracy i have.
The system is working good. I want to ask, that i need to modify charge or no? Just use the system with these parameters.
Thanks for the answers and sorry for my bad english.
dark84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-18, 02:08 AM   #3
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,353
Thanks: 369
Thanked 593 Times in 496 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default

For the record, you did what a factory tech would do. Charge by weight, make sure it works, get paid and let it ride. Without accurate pressure and temperature instantaneous measurement, it's pretty much impossible to mess with the refrigerant charge and do any good. After a cold storm moves in, you will quickly find the lower limit of the air source outdoor unit.
jeff5may is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-19, 01:17 PM   #4
pavel
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Czech Rep.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default pressure sensors

If I got it right, you don't have any pressure sensor in your system at all, right? To calculate superheat, I would recommend to install at least one pressure sensor on suction compressor side. I use CAREL sensors for refrigerant and some cheap noname sensors from Aliexpress for water sides.
pavel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-20, 06:16 PM   #5
mrmhf
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How is this project coming along?
__________________
Sorry, new users are not permitted to post links in their signatures.
mrmhf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-20, 10:52 PM   #6
MN Renovator
Less usage=Cheaper bills
 
MN Renovator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 930
Thanks: 41
Thanked 113 Times in 87 Posts
Default

*shudders at unencapsulated fiberglass* hopefully the unit is inside a space where space heating is desired.

MN Renovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design