EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-12-13, 11:17 PM   #1
AtomTrainer
Lurking Renovator

Default Source for R-290 in USA

I am looking for a sorce for R-290 in the us. I am a EPA cert HVAC/R tech, when i ask for this at my local suppliers they get ruffled fethers!

I have found a few places online that say they sell HC refrigerants but will not tell me whats in the tank!

Sam

AtomTrainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-13, 04:45 AM   #2
jeff5may
Supreme EcoRenovator

Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may

a quick search on ebay:

R22 Refrigerant Alternate Envirosafe R22A Replaces R22 | eBay
jeff5may is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-13, 05:45 AM   #3
Mikesolar
Master EcoRenovator

I wouldn't buy that stuff from fleabay. There s no manufacturers address and to be legit, you need some backup. Since the use of R290 is just getting started on this side of the pond, and supplies are limited, I would just double filter BBQ propane and set up a system to get any moisture out of it.
Mikesolar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-13, 07:52 AM   #4
AtomTrainer
Lurking Renovator

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff5may View Post
a quick search on ebay:Yea
Yea, as i said they will not tell me whats in the drum. Just that it is HC based, I am looking for pure R-290! I want to run compressor efficiency test with results that are repeatable! BBQ gas has differant makeup depending on supplyers and if the guys that are selling HC refrigerant gas will not give me the makeup that is no better.

I have a reclaimer that can clean refrigerant to ARI 700 standerds so if BBQ gas were not a cocktail i would clean it a and use it, but i am looking for pure gas for testing.

Sam
Old 02-13-13, 08:21 AM   #5
AtomTrainer
Lurking Renovator