EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Conservation
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-13, 02:57 PM   #1
pinballlooking
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,751
Thanks: 160
Thanked 525 Times in 430 Posts
Default How much power does your house use in standby.

I am amazed at how much power gets used when nothing is running. We have made really good progress on reducing big items power usage but the standby items are using about 500 watts. It will be a while before I start tracking it all down but I was wondering if others know how much power they are useing in standby.

That is enough power to charge my car one time a day.
12 kwh standby
24 kwh to charge car twice everyday.
36 kwh a day before we start using power


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wallwart101.jpg
Views:	998
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	3757  

Last edited by pinballlooking; 02-04-14 at 11:16 PM..
pinballlooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-13, 05:21 PM   #2
Servicetech
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Servicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 267
Thanks: 108
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Default

DVR's are good for about 50W when they are "off", which is about the same as when they are "on".
Servicetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-13, 05:39 PM   #3
NiHaoMike
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
NiHaoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,123
Thanks: 15
Thanked 245 Times in 231 Posts
Default

500W is equivalent to several desktop PCs running under load. Make sure it's not some "out of sight, out of mind" device. Could be a refrigerator/freezer in defrost when you thought it was not running.

As for the DVR, it's surprisingly simple to build your own with MythTV. I have one running on an Atom D2700 and it uses about 20W most of the time, jumping up to 32W when the main hard drive is spinning. (And it does a lot more than just a DVR.) Could possibly go even lower with a Raspberry Pi or something, though it won't be able to do as much.
__________________
To my surprise, shortly after Naomi Wu gave me a bit of fame for making good use of solar power, Allie Moore got really jealous of her...
NiHaoMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-13, 06:40 PM   #4
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 1,097
Thanked 362 Times in 294 Posts
Default

500 seems pretty high to me.

My base load is around 100W according to my TED.

Right now as I type my TED shows 203W with my desktop computer on and a 13W CFL, and nothing else on/running in the house.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-13, 08:41 PM   #5
OffGridKindaGuy
Hi-Tech Hillbilly
 
OffGridKindaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 97
Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Send a message via AIM to OffGridKindaGuy
Default

Mine is 1.2 amps at 12 v.d.c. I have plenty of LED light so I don't trip over the dogs at night without turning anything else on.. (The fridge light uses 3 watts when I sneak a snack)

I'm online, with one light on that fills 3 rooms with plenty of light, and I'm drawing 3.4 amps. This is my normal load in the evenings.. (Including the above LED's. They run 24/7)
__________________
If it don't, I'll always think it shoulda..
OffGridKindaGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-13, 11:57 PM   #6
MN Renovator
Less usage=Cheaper bills
 
MN Renovator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 930
Thanks: 41
Thanked 111 Times in 86 Posts
Default

My lowest use month was billed at 75kWh. So about 2.4kWh per day or 100 watts if it's all averaged. This is total use for the month with me living in the house everyday including computer usage, lighting, electric dryer, dishwasher use, etc.

Refrigerator use is pretty much right on 30kWh per month. So 45kWh amongst all the rest.
MN Renovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-13, 11:08 AM   #7
pinballlooking
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,751
Thanks: 160
Thanked 525 Times in 430 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MN Renovator View Post
My lowest use month was billed at 75kWh. So about 2.4kWh per day or 100 watts if it's all averaged.
This is incredibility low usage. We have used 80kwh in a day.

I have a computer power supply I use for bench testing things I am working on. I had left I plugged in and running. So that is some of the power but not all.
pinballlooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-13, 12:10 PM   #8
NiHaoMike
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
NiHaoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,123
Thanks: 15
Thanked 245 Times in 231 Posts
Default

I tested a few PC PSUs and they seem to use about 15W enabled but not running anything. They seemed to vary from unmeasurable to 3W when plugged in but not enabled. The "green" units use about 5W enabled and unmeasurable when not.

If it's an old/junk unit that requires a dummy load to keep regulation, add a few watts.
__________________
To my surprise, shortly after Naomi Wu gave me a bit of fame for making good use of solar power, Allie Moore got really jealous of her...
NiHaoMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-13, 01:50 PM   #9
where2
DIY Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 397
Thanks: 68
Thanked 83 Times in 73 Posts
Default

Back when I could view my consumption online through my old "smart meter", my usage in the middle of the night (including some cycling of the refrigerator and some ceiling fans running) was averaging 0.3-0.4kW/h. Using my Kill-A-Watt, I was able to track down a few offending devices which I took offline with a power strip. The entertainment center was one of those. Since I was upgraded to a "Net-Meter" in August, I haven't been able to view or track anything online.
where2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-13, 04:26 PM   #10
hamsterpower
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

68 watts standby. 11kwh average daily usage.

hamsterpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design