EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Conservation
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-08-09, 10:13 AM   #1
Tango Charlie
Minister of Silly Walks

Question Harvested rainwater for non potable use in the home

I am a technical writer/engineer at a small company that does contract engineering.
i.e.; people come to us with an idea and ask us to make it work.

Technical Services

Our field of expertise is electronic engine controls. We work a lot with MEFI controllers. But that's off topic.

Just the other day the boss dropped a new project in my lap. The concept is to use harvested rainwater to flush toilets.
Have any of you guys seen any technologies that interface a rainwater system with a city water (or well water) supply?
I've been internet surfing like mad, and have found some sites like harvesth2o.com and others that are linked from threads here on ecorenovator, but have not found much yet.

I just don't want to be reinventing the wheel.

Old 04-08-09, 09:18 PM   #2
gascort
Helper EcoRenovator

It's definitely a good idea; grey water systems turn black and are gross to see sitting in the toilet; rainwater seems to be an excellent choice.
Hope to hear someone's used it already. good luck.
gascort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-09, 06:59 AM   #3
Daox
Administrator

Sorry, I don't know anything about it (yet). If you come up with anything you can share, please do!
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-09, 12:39 PM   #4
wyatt
Helper EcoRenovator

I haven't seen anything about this type of setup specifically... but...