EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Lighting
Advanced Search

Blog 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-24-08, 04:44 AM   #1
toyobug
avid DIY'r

Default "Solatube" lighting..

Does anyone here have any experience / insight to installing one of these?

Solatube Brighten Up Series us great for every room you are considering for a skylight

Looks like an excellent way to cut down on my electric bill, so I would like to install a few.

toyobug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-08, 07:16 AM   #2
Daox
Administrator

Looks like a good idea for adding light and not loosing as much heat as long as it is sealed at the ceiling. I have no experience with them though.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-08, 08:47 AM   #3
Sandy
Lurking Renovator

A friend of mine (yes, I do have some) had one of those installed.
They have a narrow corridor type kitchen, and it lets in light so they don't need the normal lights on except at night,
and he was surprised at how little light outside it took to brighten up the room.
Even in the darker evening, it gathers the light and helps considerably.
I don't see these (yet) at the diy stores.
Only by dealers/installers.
Sandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-08, 09:24 AM   #4
toyobug
avid DIY'r

Sandy- did you install them yourself? If so how easy / difficult? What type of sealant did you use inside and out?