EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Appliances & Gadgets
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


View Poll Results: What kind of thermostat do you use?
Manual 9 39.13%
Programmable 9 39.13%
Programmable with Wifi 5 21.74%
Other 0 0%
Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-15, 07:53 PM   #11
stevehull
Steve Hull
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: hilly, tree covered Arcadia, OK USA
Posts: 829
Thanks: 241
Thanked 165 Times in 123 Posts
Default

Just looked at the specs for the Honeywell Lyric. It does not appear to have provisions for two stage heat pumps.

Or am I missing something?

Steve

__________________
consulting on geothermal heating/cooling & rational energy use since 1990
stevehull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-15, 02:10 PM   #12
celblazer
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 57
Thanks: 42
Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts
Default

here you go
celblazer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to celblazer For This Useful Post:
stevehull (11-09-15)
Old 11-09-15, 10:06 PM   #13
mechanic
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 117
Thanks: 10
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Ecobee, works great. Very customizable with the ability to add in sensors and run smart plugs. Logs temps and run times and creates detailed reports. Only things I dislike is the crappy touchscreen and it was pretty expensive. It was one of the biggest power saving changes I've made as I can now control the stages of my geo pump properly and keep it out of emergency heat mode. Last time I checked their site I didn't see it on there, they have a new ecobee3 model that looks more like a nest, not sure if it has all the same set up options... Other really nice part is it uses a standard thermostat wires (4 I think?) as signal wires to the main box that you mount in the utility room. The cheap unit I originally got with my geothermal required a bunch of extra wires to be run.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	432
Size:	153.8 KB
ID:	6205  

Last edited by Daox; 11-10-15 at 08:03 AM..
mechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-15, 08:17 AM   #14
Daox
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,482
Thanks: 1,117
Thanked 370 Times in 301 Posts
Default

Ooooh run times and temperature logging. I like that.

What model are you running?
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-15, 08:48 AM   #15
mechanic
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 117
Thanks: 10
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
Default

The old ecobee smart, not the smart si, this one

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	399
Size:	110.1 KB
ID:	6206  
mechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mechanic For This Useful Post:
Daox (11-10-15), gtojohn (11-18-15)
Old 11-18-15, 08:25 PM   #16
gtojohn
Journeyman EcoRenovator
 
gtojohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 314
Thanks: 39
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I have 2 of the vision pro 8000 touch screens. They predate wifi but we have very set schedules. These are some of the easiest to program. It has a feature that learns and tries to get to your programmed set temperature in on at the scheduled time. This could be turned off if you wish to control the moment the hvac kicks on. Now that I see the ecobee logging...I want one!
__________________
1.47 kw solar, R-40+ attic insulation, 4 layers radiant barrier, solar attic fan, solar mini pool pump
gtojohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-15, 07:36 PM   #17
JRMichler
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phillips, WI
Posts: 103
Thanks: 9
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Default

I have an Ecostat. It looks and acts like a Honeywell T87, but does not use mercury. The HVAC installer had originally installed a different manual thermostat. I had it removed because it cycled the heating system on and off a minimum of five times per hour, which defeats the purpose of a modulating condensing boiler.
JRMichler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-15, 01:18 PM   #18
Roostre
EcoLearner
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Rocky Mtns
Posts: 113
Thanks: 107
Thanked 26 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oil pan 4 View Post
I work in industrial automation, instrumentation and process control.
So of course I have a manual thermostat.
Lol. Same job, same thermostat...

As for why; our home is heating with a boiler and radiant baseboards. I haven't studied this in any depth, but it seems that it works best holding a steady temperature.

While I do dial it back when we are not home, it seems like ramping back up uses a ton of gas. There is probably a time threshold for savings, but I would have to put a camera on the meter or find another way to measure the flow.

Last edited by Roostre; 12-19-15 at 07:16 AM.. Reason: add the why
Roostre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-15, 06:29 PM   #19
Servicetech
Apprentice EcoRenovator
 
Servicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moore Oklahoma
Posts: 267
Thanks: 108
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Carrier ComfortChoice
Free from the local electric company.
Servicetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-16, 05:07 AM   #20
flavin
Lurking Renovator
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Even I have a manual thermostat.

flavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design