EcoRenovator

EcoRenovator (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/index.php)
-   Introductions (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   New to forum (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7422)

Earthshine 06-16-21 05:21 PM

New to forum

Hello - glad to have found this forum.

I'm currently taking bids on installing a photovoltaic rooftop system. This will involve some tree removal and probably a new roof. I already have a geothermal system installed for about seven or eight years or so.

Looking forward to any insight, tips, and guidance.

Earthshine 06-19-21 07:07 AM

I am new to PV and hope to get some guidance as to how to proceed. I could just follow along with whatever the installer says, but would like to hear from others who have installed a PV system themselves. I definitely want to learn more and figured this would be a great place for it.

Or maybe this forum just isn't that busy these days? I found this forum from a post on another of the Admins' forums online. Still hoping someone chimes in.

Thanks.

Daox 06-21-21 09:44 AM

Hello Earthshine. Welcome to the forum. A few of the guys here have done their own PV installs, and maybe one or two had them done. Any specific questions you'd like to ask? that would be a lot easier to address.

Earthshine 06-21-21 10:12 AM

Hey Daox thanks for chiming in. I’m interested in a DIY installation though I wouldn’t know where to start with layout and design. I took advantage of the federal tax credits for my geothermal installation (which was an easier decision because that involved some specialized equipment for the vertical loop field.) It’ll be a plus to future owners that the system was installed professionally. But man is it expensive.

So many questions to ask and so many more I don’t even know about because I’m so new to this! But it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long long time and don’t want to put it off any longer.