EcoRenovator

EcoRenovator (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/index.php)
-   Appliances & Gadgets (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Fireplace and outside air (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/showthread.php?t=603)

jlinstrom 08-18-09 06:08 PM

Fireplace and outside air

I want to put a free-standing fireplace in my cabin and am curious about using (cold) outside air for combustion. I know using (warm) house air is dumb, but net searches haven't pulled up much discussion...
Anyone done this? Heard of this? Anyone? Bueller?

johnl

Daox 08-19-09 02:07 PM

Thats a good question. I'm no expert on fireplaces, but I don't think you'll be able to use the fireplace as is. You would literally have to make an intake duct and hole for it. As long as it is placed lower in the fireplace itself, it should naturally pull air in as hot air exits from the top.

jlinstrom 08-19-09 02:22 PM

fireplace and outside air

yeah, I figured that.
But even if I did that - what about backfire protection, vent size, a cold air pump...?
I can't believe I'm the first bozo to ask this question and the firplace insets I've seen, those with double jackets/fans, all pull warm combustion air!

You can literally feel the draft of combustion air being pulled up the chimney in a fireplace. Old friend, former Marine gunny, comes into the house one fall, fire burning crisply, and announces: "fire for effect!" How true.

I'll continue my search and add to this thread as fact arise...

Daox 08-20-09 12:19 PM

I did some googling and found these links. They should help you figure things out.

Fresh-Air Intake Vents

Fireplace Design - How An Energy Efficient Fireplace Design Can Save You Big Money

This one is a bit less directly tied to your question, but seems like good info none the less.

How to Make Your Fireplace More Efficient

About fireplace inserts and hearthmounted stoves

jlinstrom 08-20-09 05:12 PM

fireplace & fresh air