EcoRenovator

EcoRenovator (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/index.php)
-   Geothermal & Heat Pumps (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Mini-Split, blinking red light.... (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6834)

AC_Hacker 01-10-19 02:22 AM

Mini-Split, blinking red light....
 
Hello All,

My trusty Sanyo Mini-Split has blinking red indicator, and it is producing no heat. This may last for many hours, until I turn it off.

It is an intermittent condition, and If I turn the unit off completely and wait several hours, turn it back on, it will function. However this above mentioned behavior seems to return..

It is Model Sanyo KS0971, as I recall. It is a 3/4 Ton unit.

Earlier this year, I thoroughly cleaned the outdoor unit coils. And I also regularly vacuum and blew out the indoor unit.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

-AC_Hacker

stevehull 01-10-19 04:57 AM

My son had a similar problem and we found out the unit had a small leak at the flare (sniffer found it). So we sucked gas out, re did flare (my fault as I was not as careful as I should have been originally) and filled using weight not psi.

Interestingly, the unit worked OK for cooling, but not heating. The tech at Gree told me about checking for a leak. Trying to get schematics for these units is tough.

Now works like a charm. I hope it is that simple for you.

Thanks for ALL your posts in the past!

Steve

jeff5may 01-10-19 07:43 AM

1 Attachment(s)
What ever happened to the other one? I basically threw in the towel on the general purpose control. Too many special needs and lack of support to help program and standardize.

Here's a general sanyo error codes list:
Sanyo Air Conditioning Fault Codes

Found your manual. I will attach. Troubleshooting starts at page 42. Good luck

AC_Hacker 01-11-19 02:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stevehull (Post 60452)
My son had a similar problem and we found out the unit had a small leak at the flare (sniffer found it). So we sucked gas out, re did flare (my fault as I was not as careful as I should have been originally) and filled using weight not psi.
Steve

Thanks Steve for your response,

I think my problem may be different than the one you described:

* There may be a slow leak as you suggested, but I set up the unit very carefully seven years ago. Of course this doesn't mean that it isn't leaking now.

* My unit is not blinking red all the time. It may go several days or even weeks before the pattern re-appears. Then if I shut it completely down for some short period of time, turn it back on, it works exactly as expected.

* It's the intermittent aspect that has me stumped.

I was previously experiencing a gradual decline in performance, but then discovered that the fins on the outdoor unit were seriously blocked, and I used foaming fin cleaner (really works well) and water jets from inside the unit, squirting out. Ended up with shiny clean and clear fins. That completely remedied the performance decline.

I do all the standard vacuuming of the fins on the indoor unit on a regular basis. I also used high pressure air to blow out any dust from the fins. Almost none came out which made me wonder if either I had done a spectacular job all along, or my pressurized air was not getting to places that really needed cleaning.

Right now I am suspecting that the fins of the indoor unit needs cleaning.

Here are a couple of videos of that process. The first video is thorough, the second video is more rigorous, and features a "muck collector" that could be easily fabricated by any determined Ecorenovator.

FIRST VIDEO:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iFgD6NsMd8Y

SECOND VIDEO:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DswSrqOHXsw

...and another which seems to be a training video for a mini-split cleaning company, to fill in any gaps that an Ecorenovator might have:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5P-PzID7LZc

Your thoughts??

-AC_Hacker

AC_Hacker 01-11-19 02:30 PM

[QUOTE=jeff5may;60453]

Here's a general sanyo error codes list:
Sanyo Air Conditioning Fault Codes

Thank for that, but my unit doesn't have an alphanumeric indicator, only flashing lights.

The PDF may answer my dilemma. Thanks

-AC_Hacker


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Ad Management by RedTyger