EcoRenovator

EcoRenovator (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/index.php)
-   Renovations & New Construction (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Foam insulation under concrete slab (https://ecorenovator.org/forum/showthread.php?t=4921)

TobyB 09-30-16 01:58 AM

Foam insulation under concrete slab

Ok, be kind, I'm new at this-

where do I go, as a DIYer, to get foam insulation to put under slab- on- grade for a shop?
What grade of foam do I need for what's effectively going to be used as a garage floor?

The backstory is, we're having a barn built to use as storage and work space, and it
seems shortsighted to NOT put in the tubing for hydronic heating. No immediate heating
plans, (as in, this is a 'storage' building until the permit's signed off, and probably for a while after)
but we have room for a geothermal field and also lots of maples that are going to eventually
be removed...

Thanks!

t

jeff5may 09-30-16 10:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TobyB (Post 51925)
Ok, be kind, I'm new at this-

where do I go, as a DIYer, to get foam insulation to put under slab- on- grade for a shop?
What grade of foam do I need for what's effectively going to be used as a garage floor?

The backstory is, we're having a barn built to use as storage and work space, and it
seems shortsighted to NOT put in the tubing for hydronic heating. No immediate heating
plans, (as in, this is a 'storage' building until the permit's signed off, and probably for a while after)
but we have room for a geothermal field and also lots of maples that are going to eventually
be removed...

Thanks!

t

Welcome to the forums, Toby!