EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Solar Power
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-13, 09:27 PM   #1
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,131
Thanks: 99
Thanked 356 Times in 290 Posts
Default DIY 12.5kw solar array

I wanted to thank Gary
Designing and Installing a Grid-Tie PV System Designing and Installing a Grid-Tie PV System
and Doug
Doug's New 4.6 KW micro inverter DIY Grid Tied PV Array
Doug's New 4.6 KW micro inverter DIY Grid Tied PV Array
This was such useful information when I was researching solar power.
Well I decided to go with Enphase micro inverters. I don’t have shade but I really like the idea if one M215 fails I will be out one panels output and if it takes a month to get a replacement it is now a huge deal. ( I have bought a spare Enphase micro inverters just in case )
I bought 40 CS6P-230P Canadian Solar panels and 40 M215 Enphase micro inverters.
I did a self-install for the 9.2kw system just like the others above did.
I had to upgrade my main load center to a 225 amp panel. The out building I installed on is about 130 feet away from my house so I had to center feed my panels. 10 panels are center feed 5 and 5 all 40 panels are done this way. I also had to run a little larger wire to the sub panel to keep the voltage rise down.
Here is a link to my system

http://www.pvoutput.org/list.jsp?id=23064&sid=20945

I am still using more power than I am making so I just ordered 10 more panels/ M215 so I hope that will bring me closer to net zero.

It is now 12.5 KW 54 solar panels.
Our best day so far was 04/16/14 92.31 kWh


Attached Thumbnails
img_0361-jpg   20130411_102911-jpg   img_0003-jpg   solarnow-jpg   dji_0016array-jpg  


Last edited by pinballlooking; 05-04-17 at 09:48 PM..
pinballlooking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-13, 01:32 PM   #2
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,196
Thanks: 836
Thanked 329 Times in 265 Posts
Default

Welcome to the site. That is quite the solar array, 9.2 kW, very nice! I take it your whole house is electric (heat, hot water, dryer, etc)?
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-13, 01:43 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,131
Thanks: 99
Thanked 356 Times in 290 Posts
Default

Thanks. It will be 11.6kw in a couple weeks I just picked up my racking and 10 more panels today.
Enphase micro inverters are on the way.
Hot water is natural gas heat is natural gas.

I am in South Carolina so AC is a big energy user and we have a Chevy Volt that we charge 2 to three times a day. Yes we have an electric dryer and oven. I have a pool but we just put in a variable speed 240 pump that uses about 160watt hour much better than my old pump.
I would like to change out my AC for a variable speed heat pump or a variable speed geo system.
That will have to wait since we just put in all the solar this year.

Last edited by pinballlooking; 06-19-13 at 02:51 PM..
pinballlooking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-13, 01:59 PM   #4
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,196
Thanks: 836
Thanked 329 Times in 265 Posts
Default

Aha, I was wondering where the usage came from. Charging up a Volt a few times a day will defintely do it. Nice car BTW.
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-13, 02:09 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,131
Thanks: 99
Thanked 356 Times in 290 Posts
Default

I really like charging the Volt with solar power. No money going to foreign oil to power my car.

I can post pictures now. I also updated my links on my top post.
I did the install completely by myself so I was lucky enough to borrow my neighbor’s tractor to help me get the panels to the roof.
Attached Thumbnails
img_0004-jpg  

Last edited by pinballlooking; 06-19-13 at 02:35 PM..
pinballlooking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-13, 10:23 AM   #6
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 5,196
Thanks: 836
Thanked 329 Times in 265 Posts
Default

Sounds great. But, where are you going to put the extra 10 panels? The roof looks pretty full!
__________________
Current project -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
&
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Daox is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-13, 10:31 AM   #7
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,131
Thanks: 99
Thanked 356 Times in 290 Posts
Default

My wife has a couple horses and she has wanted me to put up a lean-to for a while now. In the winter and when it is raining the horses can get out of the weather. Will now the time is right to get her horses some shelter and my new 10 panels get a place hang out. It will be on the right side as you are looking at the out building about 12’ x 18’ I will install these portrait 2 rows five across. This will keep the cable run shorter.

Last edited by pinballlooking; 06-20-13 at 12:56 PM..
pinballlooking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-13, 07:46 PM   #8
DIY Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 301
Thanks: 45
Thanked 68 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinballlooking View Post
My It will be on the right side as you are looking at the out building about 12 x 18 I will install these portrait 2 rows five across. This will keep the cable run shorter.
I'd do it... My array has a 2 row x 6 panel cluster in portrait, and a 2x4 cluster. (The separation is due to a vent stack. The stack is lower than the height of the panels on their rack, so no shadows )
where2 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-13, 07:50 AM   #9
Master EcoRenovator
 
Mikesolar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 931
Thanks: 35
Thanked 149 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Nice looking array. I am curious as to why you chose to do the rails vertically rather than horizontally.
Mikesolar is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-13, 08:04 AM   #10
Super Moderator
 
pinballlooking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 2,131
Thanks: 99
Thanked 356 Times in 290 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikesolar View Post
Nice looking array. I am curious as to why you chose to do the rails vertically rather than horizontally.
The trusses are 12 foot apart and 2x6 run every 2 1/2' accross. To have a cross member to put the lag bolts in I needed to mount them that way. My lean-to will be mounted the other way. The lean-to angle will not be as good maybe a 12-2 pitch.

pinballlooking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design