EcoRenovator  

Go Back   EcoRenovator > Improvements > Geothermal & Heat Pumps
Advanced Search
 


Blog Register 60+ Home Energy Saving Tips Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-17, 07:30 AM   #11
Supreme EcoRenovator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: elizabethtown, ky, USA
Posts: 2,047
Thanks: 264
Thanked 515 Times in 430 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to jeff5may
Default

Still ain't seen any pics. Sounds like it is working fine for your (perhaps imaginary) purpose, but I'm not sure if the thing exists. After all, this is the internet.

BTW, my (hippie) buddy has a split unit that size cooling his whole house. Maybe 1500 sq ft ranch. He put in a super Uber filtrete 3M allergic reaction stopper filter this spring. He just called me Saturday saying he didn't think his central air was working like it should be. Long story short, I took the ultra filter out and put in a 25 cent fiberglass filter in it's place. Like magic, the house cooled right down in a couple of hours! Except...

The attached sunroom is the last register on the line. To make the floor plan "more open", he removed the bifold divider doors last fall. Guess what: I believe that was the factor that tipped the scale after he swapped filters. The added heat gain and convection current pumped the heat in faster than the choked central unit could remove it.

I tried to loan him one of my monsters to cool the zone and dump the heat into his outdoor hot tub, but he wouldn't have it. Not pretty enough for the room...

jeff5may is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-17, 01:48 PM   #12
Helper EcoRenovator
 
Just One More's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Houston Metro Area
Posts: 40
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hi oil pan 4,

You mention a 15 amp disconnect, but I believe those 2 ton require a 20 or 25 amp breaker do they not? Maybe my mind is slipping after 5 mini split installs.......
Just One More is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:31 PM   #13
Land owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NM
Posts: 618
Thanks: 6
Thanked 87 Times in 74 Posts
Default

You are correct, a normal on/off compressor A/C needs a larger breaker. So far I have not been able to catch this unit using more than 6 amps.
I think it does this for 2 reasons, because it's an inverter so there is no inrush, it's high efficiency so it moves more BTU's with less power and it's over sized.
It's actually using almost the same wattage draw as the portable semi open loop A/C that wasn't cooling the house off.

oil pan 4 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO
Ad Management by RedTyger
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design